Education (General)

Established in 2006 by Dr. Debbie Reese of Nambé Pueblo, American Indians in Children's Literature (AICL) provides critical analysis of Indigenous peoples in children's and young adult books. Dr. Jean Mendoza joined AICL as a co-editor in 2016.

Reviews and reading lists, aimed at a public library audience.

Book Riot's kid’s books posts cover everything from children’s picture books to chapter books for kids to middle grade fiction recommendations.

Published monthly. Provides concise summaries and critical evaluations of current children's books. Assists readers with questions regarding the ever-evolving children's literature field. Reviews give an in-depth look at a selected book's content, reading level, strengths and weaknesses, and quality of the format, as well as suggestions for curricular use.

Climate Lit’s literature database is meant to be ready-to-go for classroom use while also being adaptable for specific contexts. For this reason, entries on literature go beyond mere summary to highlight how the text provides an opening to discuss specific climate issues, topics, and vocabulary.

Published every other month. Includes reviews of the best children's books published, articles about children's books, explorations of children's books from every perspective and news of the children's book world.

Published twice monthly. Publishes reviews for fiction, mysteries, sci-fi, translations, nonfiction, & children's books.

Book lists and articles about children's literature as a literary form.

The Rainbow Book List is created by the Rainbow Book List Committee of the Rainbow Round Table of the American Library Association. Originally a joint project between the Rainbow Round Table (formerly Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table) and the Social Responsibilities Round Table, the Rainbow Book List presents an annual bibliography of quality books with significant and authentic LGBQTIA+ content, which are recommended for people from birth through eighteen years of age.

Part of the Augusta Baker programming series. Provides critical reviews of youth books featuring characters and people from historically marginalized communities, critical annotated bibliographies, and biographies of BIPoC.

Published monthly. Provides news, information and reviews for librarians and media specialists who serve children and young adults in school and public libraries.

Shelf Awareness publishes two newsletters, one for general readers and one for people in the book business:
- weekly "best books" lists, as chosen by booksellers, librarians and other industry experts
- news about books and authors, author interviews and more.

Includes awards for children's, middle grade, and young adult literature written by Minnesota authors.

Excellence in Early Learning Digital Media
John Newbery Medal
Mildred L. Batchelder Award
Notable Children's Books
Notable Children's Digital Media
Notable Children's Recordings
Odyssey Award for Excellence in Audiobook Production
Pura Belpré Children's Author Award
Pura Belpré Youth Illustrator Award
Randolph Caldecott Medal
Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal
Theodor Seuss Geisel Award

Alex Awards
Edwards Award
Morris Award
Nonfiction Award
Odyssey Award
Printz Award
Pura Belpré
Amazing Audiobooks for Young Adults
Best Fiction for Young Adults
Great Graphic Novels for Teens
Outstanding Books for the College Bound
Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers
Teens' Top Ten

The award was established and is administered by the Cooperative Children’s Book Center, a children’s literature library of the School of Education, University of Wisconsin-Madison. Each year a committee of children’s literature experts selects the winner from the books published in the preceding year.

Honors an author or illustrator for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences.