Library Class and Subject Guides: Education (General): K-12

Teacher Resources

TeachingBooks.net This link opens in a new window
Provides resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K-12 environment, with every resource selected to encourage the integration of multimedia, author, and book materials into reading and library activities.

LinkedIn Learning K-12 Education training
Use these online tutorials to learn how to create educational materials for K-20, adult learners, and corporate settings using the latest e-learning and educational technology tools. Then discover teacher professional development courses and use LinkedIn Learning to pre-assign video learning to your students to flip the classroom. LinkedIn Learning is subscribed to by MSU ITS.
Edutopia
Developed by the George Lucas Educational Foundation, this site identifies "what works in education" in an effort to change education for the better. To that end this site provides strategies and resources to assist in the development of interactive learning environments using diverse and innovative media resources.
Best Evidence Encyclopedia (Empowering Educators with Evidence on Proven Programs)
A web site created by the Johns Hopkins University School of Education’s Center for Data-Driven Reform in Education to provide educators with “fair and useful information about the strength of the evidence supporting a variety of programs available for students in grades K-12.” The criteria developed for the inclusion of reviews is provided on the web site (About the Best Evidence Encyclopedia).
Common Core State Standards Initiative
This site is the official home of the Common Core State Standards.
What Works Clearinghouse
The goal of the WWC is to be a resource for informed education decision making. To reach this goal, the WWC identifies studies that provide credible and reliable evidence of the effectiveness of a given practice, program, or policy (referred to as “interventions”), and disseminates summary information and free reports on the WWC website. Institute for Education Studies, US Department of Education.

Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides a highly specialized collection of information on everything from children's health & development to cutting-edge pedagogical theory & practice for educators, librarians, and researchers.

Articles for K-12 Students

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gives teachers and students instant access to four complete encyclopedias that ensure consistency with classroom topics and age-appropriate language in grades K-12.
Explora Kids This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains elementary school-appropriate magazines, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and images.
Gale in Context: High School This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides grades 9-12 with standards-aligned content to help with papers, projects, and presentations, while empowering critical thinking and information literacy skills.
Gale in Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A middle school-appropriate database of reference works, biographies, magazine and journal articles, primary source documents, and multimedia.
Middle Search Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text from popular middle school magazines with articles being assigned a reading level indicator.
PebbleGo: Animals and Biographies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Curriculum-connected research tool for elementary school educators for animal and biography subject areas.
PebbleGo Next: States and Native American Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Students in grades 3-6 will learn about key concepts related to States and American Indians.
Primary Search This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text popular magazines for elementary school research with assigned reading levels.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides access to such topics as biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology, and wildlife.

Web Sites for K-5 Students

Center for Innovation in Engineering and Science Education--K-12 Education Curriculum
A collaborative endeavor between the Center, K-12 and university educators, researchers, policymakers, and educational organizations, this site provides access to curriculum materials developed to support new teaching methodologies in the fields of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education.
Children's Bookshelf at Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg offers free ebooks to download.
Children's Books Online: The Rosetta Project
A volunteer-driven project publishing children's book translations online.
Bookology children's literature magazine
Website is a source for independent news; information on books, authors, and illustrators; and book reviews. Dedicated to the promotion of children's books and reading, the Children's Literature Network provides access to their resources at no cost.
Cool Science
This site provides access to a wide variety of resources related to science learning and education. The types of resources readily accessible at no cost include animations, kits, videos, software, tutorials, and classroom activities.
Edutopia
Developed by the George Lucas Educational Foundation, this site identifies "what works in education" in an effort to change education for the better. To that end this site provides strategies and resources to assist in the development of interactive learning environments using diverse and innovative media resources.
International Children's Digital Library
A non-profit organization, this foundation aspires to provide access to a collection of historical and contemporary books for children and young adults representing every culture and language throughout the world.
National Science Teacher Association learning center
SciLinks
Teaching Channel
Free access to a collection of videos demonstrating and modeling instructional methods. Videos are categorized by grade level, subject, and topic.

Web Sites for Students in grades 5-9

BioEd Online
This site provides access to educational resources in the field of biology for teachers, students, and parents. Developed and maintained by Baylor College of Medicine, resources include streaming video presentations, slides, science stories and news accompanied by discussion questions, as well as classroom lessons.
Center for Innovation in Engineering and Science Education--K-12 Education Curriculum
A collaborative endeavor between the Center, K-12 and university educators, researcher, policymakers, and educational organizations, this site provides access to curriculum materials developed to support new methodologies in the fields of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education.
Cool Science
this site provides access to a wide variety of resources related to science learning and education. The types of resources readily accessible at no cost include animations, kits, videos, software, tutorials, classroom activities, and software.
The Digital Library for Earth System Education (DLESE)
This site identifies resources, collections, and services related to the field of earth science. Educational resources include lessons plans, scientific data, visualizations, interactive computer models, and virtual field trips.
C-Span Classroom
This site provides access to free primary source materials related to U.S. politics.
The National Archives Experience DOCS TEACH
This site enables educators to search thousands of primary resources selected from the National Archives, as well as find and use or build your own interactive activity using documents from the National Archives.
United States House of Representative, History, Art & Archives--Education Page
Provides information on the heritage of the U.S. House of Representatives that includes biographical, historical data, and other research resources.
American Memory
An online collection of digitalized documents, films, manuscripts, photographs, and sound recordings related to the history and culture of the United States. This collection is compiled and maintained by the Library of Congress National Digital Library Program and represents historical items from the many special collections that are a part of the Library of Congress.
AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History
This site provides links to documents related to U.S. political, diplomatic, military, and legal history. Arranged chronologically, the documents referenced include speeches, statutes, treaties, court decisions, memoirs, diaries, letters, published books, and a few songs.
iCivics
iCivics is a non-profit organization dedicated to reinvigorating civic learning through interactive and engaging learning resources. Our educational resources empower teachers and prepare the next generation of students to become knowledgeable and engaged citizens. Founded and led by Justice Sandra Day O’Connor