Journal Databases
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to articles, as well as full text of articles from over 4,600 publications, covering almost every academic subject.
-
Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to articles and other materials covering all areas of biological sciences, including biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
-
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, maps, reports, and theses that cover the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access all JSTOR archival journal collections, now also including Sustainability, Public Health, Security Studies, and more.
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of disciplines such as agriculture, biology & genetics, arts & humanities, biochemistry, business, chemical engineering, chemistry, computer science, earth & planetary sciences, economics, environmental science, mathematics, medicine & dentistry, physics & astronomy, social sciences, and veterinary science & medicine.
-
GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
Includes peer-reviewed articles from over 50 high impact journals covering a broad range of geoscience areas.
-
Springer Journal Package This link opens in a new window
Provides researchers with access to scientific documents from journals of various disciplines.
-
AGRICOLAAGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century.
-
eHRAF Collection of Ethnography This link opens in a new window
Provides full text ethnographic information on all aspects of cultural and social life (e.g., religious beliefs, raising children, causes and cures of diseases, economics, politics) for numerous cultures.
-
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
Legal Periodicals
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text newspaper articles from many states and countries, transcripts from mostly major American news sources, and provides citations and selected full-text to legal materials.
Specific Journal Titles
-
Science and ScienceNOW This link opens in a new window
Scientific news, commentary, and research journals, Science and ScienceNOW, contribute to the discussion of important issues related to the advancement of science.
-
NatureNature is an international weekly journal of science. Each issue contains short articles on current and groundbreaking research in all areas of science.
IEEE Xplore
-
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A premier database for research in electrical engineering, electronics, computer science & related disciplines; IEEE Xplore includes access to over 5 million full-text documents such as journals, magazines, conferences, and standards.
Give MavScholar a Try!
Find articles, books, videos & more
Find a Journal, Magazine, or Newspaper
The following search box lists journals, magazines and newspapers available from Library Services. This link is most useful when you have a citation and know the title of the publication.
Finding Articles & More Using Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a great tool to find articles, but it includes fee-based websites. Through Library Services you have three options to access the full article content and bypass paywalls.
- Click our Google Scholar link, which is also found on our Databases A-Z page. This link will verify your access through your StarID. You will need to return to this link whenever you open a new browser.
- Change your Library Links setting in Google Scholar. Your browser will remember these settings until you clear your cache.
With options 1 and 2, your Google Scholar results will include links such as ViewIt@MNSU and, after clicking the double arrow icon, GetIt@MNSU. These links will connect you to our library to access the item.
- Install the Libkey Nomad browser extension. When you click on titles in the Google search results, LibKey adds access links into the publisher's page. LibKey will add these links to webpages until you uninstall the extension from your browser.
