Library Class and Subject Guides: Geography & Earth Science: Books

World Cat

WorldCat
world cat
This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to books and other materials (including those that are out of print) held by libraries worldwide.Use this database to request books via Interlibrary Loan. *This resource is provided by the Electronic Library of Minnesota, freely accessible to anyone in Minnesota!*

Cornerstone-Digital MSU Theses--Geography

Geography Theses
This is a collection of Masters Theses in the MSU, Mankato Department of Geography. The theses are available through Memorial Library's digital repository Cornerstone. Older theses and alternate plan papers are available in the University Archives and can be found using the Library Catalog.

Dissertations and Theses from Other Institutions

Dissertations Library Guide
Guide to finding dissertations and theses from other libraries. Includes links to Open Access dissertation sites.

Research Methods Books

Research Methods in Geography by Margaret Jones; Basil Gomez (Editor); John Paul Jones (Editor)
Call Number: General Collection: G73 .R45 2010
This comprehensive textbook offers a conceptual and practical introduction to research methodology, data collection, and techniques used in both human and physical geography.
Statistical Analysis of Geographical Data by Simon James Dadson
Publication Date: 2017-05-08
It covers a wide range of topics including graphical and numerical description of datasets, probability, calculation of confidence intervals, hypothesis testing, collection and analysis of data using analysis of variance and linear regression.
Statistical Methods for Geography by Peter A. Rogerson
Call Number: General Collection G70.3 .R64 2015
Publication Date: 2015-02-10
The book covers descriptive statistics, probability, inferential statistics, hypothesis testing and sampling, variance, correlation, regression analysis, spatial patterns, spatial data reduction using factor analysis and cluster analysis.
GIS Research Methods by Sheila Lakshmi Steinberg; Steven J. Steinberg
Call Number: G70.212 .S74 2015
Publication Date: 2015-05-01
This book demonstrates how to incorporate spatial thinking and geographic information system (GIS) technology into research design and analysis.
Qualitative Research Methods in Human Geography by Iain Hay (Editor); Meghan Cope (Editor)
Call Number: General Collection GF21 .Q35 2021
Publication Date: 2021-03-29
Key Methods in Geography by Gill Valentine (Editor); Nicholas Clifford (Editor); Shaun French (Editor)
Call Number: Reference: G74 .K429 2010
Key Methods in Geography is an introduction for students to the principal methodological issues involved in the collection, analysis and presentation of geographical information.
An Introduction to Scientific Research Methods in Geography by Paul Sutton; Daniel R. Montello
Call Number: General Collection: G73 .M58 2006
This text provides a broad and integrative introduction to the conduct and interpretation of scientific research in geography.
Research Methods in Remote Sensing by Basudeb Bhatta
Publication Date: 2013-04-30
This book introduces the overall concepts of research methods in Remote Sensing. It also addresses the entire research framework, ranging from ontology to documentation.

E-Book Collections

Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A growing and changing collection of over 145,000 e-books in many different academic subject areas; includes mainly works from university presses and other academic publishers. Combines the content of the former ebook platforms of EBL and Ebrary into one place.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
A collection of journals and eBooks covering essential humanities, social sciences, and other topics.

Springer Link
1500+ journals from Springer. Also includes numerous Geography related e-books. This search box limits to just the content we own. Click the box for "Preview-Only" content to explore other Springer book chapters and articles.

Browsing in the Library Stacks

The library's books are organized on the shelf by subject using call numbers. Use the call numbers below to help you browse the stacks for Geography books.

Subject	Call Number
World History and Regional Histories of Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, etc.	D-DX
General History of America, United States	E
Local Histories of the United States, Canada, Latin American	F
Geography (General)	G 1-922
Geographers	G 65-69
Philosophy, Methodology, GIS	G 70
Mathematical Geography and Cartography	GA 1-1776
Physical Geography	GB 3-5030
Geomorphology, Landforms	GB 400-649
Hydrology	GB 651-2998
Oceanography	GC 1-1581
Environmental Sciences	GE 1-350
Human Ecology, Anthropogeography	GF 1-900
Transportation and Communications	HE 1-9990
Human Settlements, The City, Planning	HT 51-395
Geophysics, Meteorology, Climatology, Weather	QC 801-999
Geology	QE 1-996.5
Natural History, Conservation	QH 1-278.5
Parks and Public Reservations	SB 481-486

Browsing in Government Documents (1st Floor)

Government Documents use the SUDOC system of organization. They are arranged by government agency, which makes them challenging to browse.

Subject	Call Number
US Forest Service	A 13
Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS)	A 57
Bureau of the Census	C 3
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)	C 55
National Weather Service (NWS)	C 55.100
Army Corps of Engineers	D 103
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)	EP
US Geological Survey	I 19
USGS Professional Papers	I 19.16
USGS Water Resources Investigations	I 19.42/4
USGS Minerals Yearbook, Metals and Minerals	I 19.165
National Park Service	I 29
United States Fish and Wildlife Service (FWS)	I 49
Bureau of Land Management	I 53
National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)	NAS
Department of State	S
Department of Transportation	TD

Geography & Earth Science: Books

Find Books, Videos, Music & More at Minnesota State Mankato Libraries

Find books & ebooks with MavScholar