Library Class and Subject Guides: Athletic Training & Evidence-Based Practice: Getting Started

Core Sources

Library Services has several core literature sources for athletic trainers. Click below to quickly assess to these databases and search engines (many of which require your StarID login):

PEDro: Physiotherapy Evidence Database
Describes randomized trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. If you cannot access the full contents, search titles in MavScholar.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and selected full text to articles about medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
Contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to nursing and allied health journals, as well as citations and abstracts to articles. Includes a broad range of nursing specializations.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text

Featuring more than 400 full text titles, SPORTDiscus™ with Full Text is the most comprehensive, bibliographic and full-text database covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, coaching, training, physical therapy, nutrition, and more.

APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to articles and books about psychology and "disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work."

Our subscription gives you access to:	No access* to:
Weekly Issue Webpage articles (back to 1998) Digital Editions with full image content of each issue (back to 2020) Newsletters Podcasts such as Buzzcast and Unpacks Videos such as SBJ TV, SBJ Spotlight, SBJ I Factor and Sports Media	Daily issues including Morning Buzz Closing Bell Global Weekend Rap Related Sites SBJ Atlas SportTechie The Esports Observer Leaders in Sport *SBJ may offer limited free access to this content

TRIP (Turning Research into Practice)
The TRIP Database searches across multiple internet sites for evidence-based content. It covers key medical journals, Cochrane Systematic reviews, clinical guidelines, and other highly relevant websites to help health professionals find high quality clinical evidence for clinical practice. If you cannot access the full contents, search titles in MavScholar.

Evidence-Based Practice Introduction

This guide is intended for any athletic trainer or student who needs a basic introduction to the principles of Evidence-Based Practice. After reviewing this guide you will be able to:

define Evidence-Based Practice (EBP)
identify the parts of a well-built clinical question
search for literature based on a PICO question and type of study
identify key critical appraisal questions that help determine the validity of a study

How to Use This Guide

EBP Process	What is EBP? Provides definitions and explains the steps in the EBP process.
ASK with PICO	Asking clinical question - illustrates the anatomy of a good clinical question, and defines the types of questions and studies.
SEARCH	Searching the literature - constructs a well-built literature search based on the PICO and identifies potentially relevant articles.
APPRAISE	Evaluating the evidence - identifies criteria for determining the validity of a study selected for our case.
APPLY & EVALUATE	Return to the athlete -- integrate that evidence with clinical expertise, athlete preferences and apply it to practice. Evaluate desired outcomes with the athlete
INFORM with CATS	Communicate what you learned in your evidence-based practice with the greater athletic training and allied health community.
More Info	Points you to additional sources for athletic training.
Citing Sources	Resources to help you cite your sources in AMA or APA styles.
Certification Exam	BOC sources at the library.
Feedback & Help	Gives you the opportunity to provide feedback and/or get help from librarians.

Credits

This guide was originally developed by staff at Duke University Medical Center Library and the Health Sciences Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. For information or questions about this tutorial contact Sarah Cantrell (sarah.cantrell@duke.edu) or Jamie Conklin (jconklin@unc.edu).