The Educational Resources Information Center database provides extensive access to educational-related literature and information in a variety of formats.
Provides the largest and most complete collection of full text journals in education research and is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers.
Provides citations and abstracts to articles and books about psychology and "disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work."
Provides citations and abstracts to articles and proceedings about social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Provides citations and abstracts to articles about sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Provides citations, abstracts, and full text to newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Access all JSTOR archival journal collections, now also including Sustainability, Public Health, Security Studies, and more.
Provides full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
Topics include: Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences & Nursing, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Non-Profit Leadership, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning, plus a few more journals.
Provides full-text access to nursing and allied health journals, as well as citations and abstracts to articles. Includes a broad range of nursing specializations.
Provides citations, abstracts, and selected full text to articles about medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
This link opens in a new windowProvides citations, abstracts, and selected full text to articles about all aspects of nursing and allied health.
Featuring more than 400 full text titles, SPORTDiscus™ with Full Text is the most comprehensive, bibliographic and full-text database covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, coaching, training, physical therapy, nutrition, and more.
What is a “peer-reviewed” journal?
Common elements of a scholarly or “peer-reviewed” journal article
Abstract – What is this article about? The abstract is a concise summary.
Introduction – What is the key problem, issue, or question?
Method – How will the author investigate the problem? With a laboratory test? Or a survey? Or another type of study?
Results – Research findings, including observations, statistics, graphs, etc.
Discussion / Conclusion – What did the author learn? What did the study prove? What questions are still unanswered?
References – What other scholarly articles did the author consult when conducting this research and writing this article?
See our Journal Articles guide to learn more about finding articles for your research.
