Library Class and Subject Guides: Health Science 101 (Schuette; Schuh): School Health Education

Encyclopedias and Background Information

Encyclopedias and dictionaries often ...

provide an overview of the topic
help you to understand the topic
provide additional resources

Gale Ebooks
Electronic reference books on a variety of subjects.
SAGE Knowledge
Contains electronic reference titles from Sage. Users can search and browse the full-text equivalent handbooks, encyclopedias, and other titles.

Encyclopedia of Adolescence by B. Bradford Brown
Call Number: Ebook--click on title to access

ISBN: 9780123739513

Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media by Jeffrey Jensen Arnett
Call Number: Ebook--click on title to access

ISBN: 9781452265513

Publication Date: 2006-12-14
The Encyclopedia of Children's Health and Wellness by Carol Turkington
Call Number: Reference Collection (Non-circulating)--1st Floor RJ45 .T9465 2004

ISBN: 9780816048212

Publication Date: 2004
Encyclopedia of school health by David C. Wiley & Amy C. Cory
Call Number: Ebook--click on title to access

ISBN: 9781452276250

Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of the life course and human development by Deborah S. Carr and others
Call Number: Ebook--click on title to access

ISBN: 9780028661667

Publication Date: c2009
The Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health : Infancy Through Adolescence (2nd ed.) by Jacqueline L. Longe
Call Number: Ebook--click on title to access

ISBN: 9781414486925

Publication Date: c2011
Gale Encyclopedia of Fitness by Gale Cengage Learning; Jacqueline L. Longe (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook--Click on title to access

ISBN: 9781414490199

Publication Date: 2012
Mayo Clinic Family Health Book by Scott C. Litin; Mayo Clinic Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: Reference Collection (Non-circulating)--1st Floor RC81 .M473 2003

ISBN: 9780060002503

Publication Date: 2003

Find Articles

Click here to get step-by-step instructions for how to find articles on a selected topic.

Academic Search Premier
Provides citations and abstracts to articles, as well as full text of articles from over 4,600 publications, covering almost every academic subject.
Nexis Uni
Provides full-text newspaper articles from many states and countries, transcripts from mostly major American news sources, and provides citations and selected full-text to legal materials.
ScienceDirect
Covers a broad range of disciplines such as agriculture, biology & genetics, arts & humanities, biochemistry, business, chemical engineering, chemistry, computer science, earth & planetary sciences, economics, environmental science, mathematics, medicine & dentistry, physics & astronomy, social sciences, and veterinary science & medicine.

Alt HealthWatch
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
CINAHL Ultimate
Provides full-text access to nursing and allied health journals, as well as citations and abstracts to articles. Includes a broad range of nursing specializations.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare.
Consumer Health Complete
Designed to support the information needs of patients and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics, this database provides full text content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicines.
Education Source
Provides the largest and most complete collection of full text journals in education research and is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers.
ERIC (EBSCO)
The Educational Resources Information Center database provides extensive access to educational-related literature and information in a variety of formats.
ERIC on ProQuest
The Educational Resources Information Center database provides extensive access to educational-related literature and information in a variety of formats.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides access to nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals that focus on various medical disciplines.
Medline
Provides citations and abstracts to articles covering all medical topics, including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services.
Sports Medicine & Education Index
Provides information on physical education such as business & marketing, coaching & training, dance, health education, kinesiology, motor learning, physical education curricula, physical therapy, recreation, sport law, sport sociology/psychology, sports equipment, sports medicine, and standardized fitness tests.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Featuring more than 400 full text titles, SPORTDiscus™ with Full Text is the most comprehensive, bibliographic and full-text database covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, coaching, training, physical therapy, nutrition, and more.

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
Provides citations and abstracts "covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education."
Communication Source
This resource offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
APA PsycINFO
Provides citations and abstracts to articles and books about psychology and "disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work."
Social Services Abstracts
Provides citations and abstracts to articles and proceedings about social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Sociological Abstracts
Provides citations and abstracts to articles about sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
TOXLINE
Provides citations and abstracts to articles about all areas of toxicology, including chemicals & pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens & teratogens.

Alt-PressWatch
Provides full text articles from alternative and independent press.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Provides citations, abstracts, and full text to newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
US Newsstream
Search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980's.

Articles not owned by MSU Memorial Library can be requested from another library by submitting an interlibrary loan request. For information about this service, click here.

Find Books

Watch a YouTube video on finding books in Memorial Library

Click here to get step-by-step instructions for how to find books on a selected topic.

WorldCat Discovery
Provides citations to books and other materials (including those that are out of print) held by libraries worldwide and allows users to request books via Interlibrary Loan.

Books not owned by MSU Memorial Library can be requested from another library by submitting an interlibrary loan request. For information about this service, click here.

Find Statistics and Data

Statistics often provide a concise and effective means to ...

explain a viewpoint
integrate evidence to support an opinion or claim
assist in presenting research data in a logical and easy to understand manner

PolicyMap
PolicyMap is a data and mapping tool used by government agencies, universities, healthcare institutions and nonprofits to solve place-based problems.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention The CDC is the major national public health institute of the United States. The CDC website has extensive information about health topics and statistics.
County Health Rankings & Roadmaps (University of Wisconsin, Population Health Institute)
County Health Rankings and Roadmaps, Minnesota Ranks counties in Minnesota based on health outcomes and health factors.
Google Public Data Explorer
HealthData.gov
National Historical Geographic Information System
National Vital Statistics System
NCHS Data Briefs
WHO - World Health Organization
WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.
The World Bank | World DataBank

County Health Rankings and Roadmaps, Minnesota Ranks counties in Minnesota based on health outcomes and health factors.
Minnesota Center for Health Statistics (MCHS) - Minnesota Department of Health Health statistics for Minnesota on the state and local community level, offered through the Minnesota Department of Health. Includes: collection and analysis of health-related data; design and implementation of public health surveys; coordination of health data collection efforts and the state and local level.
Minnesota Center for Health Statistics Minnesota Student Survey
Minnesota Department of Education - Data Center
Minnesota Department of Health "The department’s mission is to protect, maintain and improve the health of all Minnesotans. It has about 1,500 employees and an annual budget of approximately $500 million in state , federal and fee-based funds."
Minnesota Legislative Reference Library, Health
The Minnesota Legislative Reference Library is the library that Minnesota legislators use for researching health policies. The Health links page links to other databases of Minnesota local and state statistics and data.
Minnesota State Demographic Center
"The Minnesota State Demographic Center analyzes and distributes data from state, U.S. Census Bureau and other sources."
MN Data Sources for County Health Rankings
MN Public Health Data Access Portal
NCHA (Minnesota State University's National College Health Assessment Data)
School Health Policies and Practices Study (SHPPS)
School Health Profiles

American College Health Association National College Health Assessment
American Community Survey
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (CDC) "The Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is the nation's premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services."
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (CDC) "The Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is the nation's premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services."
Center for Community Health and Development at the University of Kansas - Community Evaluation - Behavioral Surveys
National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey
The National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) is a program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States. The survey is unique in that it combines interviews and physical examinations.
National Health Interview Survey
Roper iPOLL
iPOLL is a comprehensive database of 500,000 questions and answers asked in the US since 1935.

more... less...

We must post the following information: A. Users may not re-disseminate Roper Center documentation or data outside of Minnesota State University, Mankato. Researchers who are actively collaborating with individuals at non-member institutions may provide a copy of relevant data sets to their collaborators for the duration of the project. Roper Center data may be placed on web sites only if access is restricted to Authorized Users of Minnesota State University, Mankato. If Minnesota State University, Mankato ceases to be a member of the Roper Center, individual users may keep copies of data obtained during the membership period, but the datasets must be removed from web sites or data libraries and cannot be further redistributed within Minnesota State University, Mankato. B. Authorized Users of Minnesota State University, Mankato may present information from iPOLL and results of analysis of Roper Center data in reports and publications. However, they may not resell direct access to iPOLL or Roper Center data; for example, they may not charge for conducting iPOLL searches. Users may not make a copy of the iPOLL database or create a database by regularly or systematically downloading and storing pages from the Roper Center web site. No part of the web site may be reproduced, transmitted to, or stored in any other web site, nor may any of its pages or part thereof be disseminated in any electronic retrieval system or service without prior written permission.
Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS)

Explore Web Resources

American College Health Association
American School Health Association (ASHA)
Society for Public Health Education
Society of Health and Physical Educators (SHAPE)
more... less...

"he vision of SHAPE America is "Healthy People – Physically Educated and Physically Active!" Headquartered in Reston, VA, 25 miles west of Washington, DC, SHAPE America is the largest organization of professionals involved in school-based health, physical education and physical activity, who are dedicated to teaching and promoting active, healthy lifestyles."