Library Class and Subject Guides: Health Science 101 (Schuette; Schuh): Applied Health Science

Encyclopedias and Background Information

Encyclopedias and dictionaries often ...

provide an overview of the topic
help you to understand the topic
provide additional resources

SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Contains electronic reference titles from Sage. Users can search and browse the full-text equivalent handbooks, encyclopedias, and other titles.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Electronic reference books on a variety of subjects.

Contagious Diseases Sourcebook by Joyce Shannon (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook--click on title to access
ISBN: 9780780810754
Publication Date: 2010
Dictionary of Health Education by David A. Bedworth; Albert E. Bedworth
Call Number: Reference Collection (Non-circulating)--1st Floor RA440 .D53 2010
ISBN: 9780195342598
Publication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of Aging and Public Health by Sana Loue (Editor); Martha Sajatovic (Editor); Siran Koroukian (Editor); Linda S. Lloyd (Editor); Scott Ober (Editor); Laura Weiss Roberts (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook--click on title to access
ISBN: 9780387337531
Publication Date: 2007-11-22
Encyclopedia of Global Health by Yawei Zhang (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook--click on title to access
ISBN: 9781412941860
Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior by Norman B. Anderson (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook--click on title to access
ISBN: 9780761923602
Publication Date: 2004
The Gale encyclopedia of environmental health by Jacqueline L. Longe
Call Number: Ebook--click on title to access
ISBN: 9781414498836
Publication Date: 2013
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health by Brigham Narins
Call Number: Ebook-click on title to access
ISBN: 9781414498959
Publication Date: 2013
The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health by Laurie J. Fundukian (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook--click on title to acces
ISBN: 9781414498799
Publication Date: 2013
Handbook for Public Health in Social Work by Robert Keefe (Editor); Elaine T. Jurkowski (Editor)
Call Number: Reference Collection (Non-circulating)--1st Floor HV687.5.U5 H36 2013
ISBN: 9780826107428
Publication Date: 2013
International Encyclopedia of Public Health by Kristian Heggenhougen (Editor-In-Chief); Stella R. Quah (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Reference Collection (Non-circulating)--1st Floor RA423 .I68 2008
ISBN: 9780122272257
Publication Date: 2008-09-12
Mental Health Care Issues in America by Michael Shally-Jensen (Editor)
Call Number: Reference Collection (Non-circulating)--1st Floor RC437 .M46 2013
ISBN: 9781610690133
Publication Date: 2013
The Oxford handbook of health economics by Sherry Glied; Peter Smith
Call Number: Ebook-click on title to access
ISBN: 9780191743719
Publication Date: 2011
The State of Health Atlas by Diarmuid O'Donovan
Call Number: Reference Collection (Non-circulating)--1st Floor G1046.E5 O36 2008
ISBN: 9780520254114
Publication Date: 2008

Find Articles

Click here to get step-by-step instructions for how to find articles on a selected topic.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to articles, as well as full text of articles from over 4,600 publications, covering almost every academic subject.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text newspaper articles from many states and countries, transcripts from mostly major American news sources, and provides citations and selected full-text to legal materials.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of disciplines such as agriculture, biology & genetics, arts & humanities, biochemistry, business, chemical engineering, chemistry, computer science, earth & planetary sciences, economics, environmental science, mathematics, medicine & dentistry, physics & astronomy, social sciences, and veterinary science & medicine.

Medline This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to articles covering all medical topics, including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services.
Nursing and Allied Health Premium Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and selected full text to articles about all aspects of nursing and allied health.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to nursing and allied health journals, as well as citations and abstracts to articles. Includes a broad range of nursing specializations.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals that focus on various medical disciplines.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
Contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Designed to support the information needs of patients and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics, this database provides full text content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicines.
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Provides the largest and most complete collection of full text journals in education research and is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Educational Resources Information Center database provides extensive access to educational-related literature and information in a variety of formats.
ERIC on ProQuest This link opens in a new window
The Educational Resources Information Center database provides extensive access to educational-related literature and information in a variety of formats.
Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to articles and other materials covering all areas of biological sciences, including biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Featuring more than 400 full text titles, SPORTDiscus™ with Full Text is the most comprehensive, bibliographic and full-text database covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, coaching, training, physical therapy, nutrition, and more.

Ageline This link opens in a new window
Provides citations & abstracts to articles, books, & other materials about all aspects of gerontology.
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts "covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education."
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
This resource offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
Sports Medicine & Education Index This link opens in a new window
Provides information on physical education such as business & marketing, coaching & training, dance, health education, kinesiology, motor learning, physical education curricula, physical therapy, recreation, sport law, sport sociology/psychology, sports equipment, sports medicine, and standardized fitness tests.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to articles and books about psychology and "disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work."
Rand Reports This link opens in a new window
A public policy research institution, the RAND Corporation focuses its research on a wide range of policy issues including national security, transportation & infrastructure, international affairs, workforce & labor issues, education, public safety, environmental issues, and healthcare.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to articles and proceedings about social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to articles about sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
TOXLINE This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to articles about all areas of toxicology, including chemicals & pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens & teratogens.

US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980's.
Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides full text articles from alternative and independent press.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and full text to newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.

Articles not owned by MSU Memorial Library can be requested from another library by submitting an interlibrary loan request. For information about this service, click here.

Find Books

Watch a YouTube video on finding books in Memorial Library

Click here to get step-by-step instructions for how to find books on a selected topic.

WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to books and other materials (including those that are out of print) held by libraries worldwide and allows users to request books via Interlibrary Loan.

Books not owned by MSU Memorial Library can be requested from another library by submitting an interlibrary loan request. For information about this service, click here.

Find Statistics and Data

Statistics often provide a concise and effective means to ...

explain a viewpoint
integrate evidence to support an opinion or claim
assist in presenting research data in a logical and easy to understand manner

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
PolicyMap is a data and mapping tool used by government agencies, universities, healthcare institutions and nonprofits to solve place-based problems.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Coverage: 1790 to present.

Cancer Statistics Center The Cancer Statistics Center website is a comprehensive interactive resource for learning about the cancer burden in the United States. Produced by the American Cancer Society, the website provides detailed statistics on a range of topics including: The estimated numbers of new cancer cases and deaths in the current year Current cancer incidence, mortality, and survival rates and trends State-level risk factor and screening metrics
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention The CDC is the major national public health institute of the United States. The CDC website has extensive information about health topics and statistics.
Google Public Data Explorer Data sets and metrics compiled by Google.
HealthData.gov
County Health Rankings & Roadmaps (University of Wisconsin, Population Health Institute)
National Historical Geographic Information System "... provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2013."
National Program of Cancer Registries (NPCR)
Data collected by local cancer registries enable public health professionals to understand and address the cancer burden more effectively. CDC provides support for states and territories to maintain registries that provide high-quality data.
National Vital Statistics System
NCHS Data Briefs
World Bank | World DataBank Collections of time series data on a variety of topics.

County Health Rankings and Roadmaps, Minnesota Ranks counties in Minnesota based on health outcomes and health factors.
Minnesota Center for Health Statistics (MCHS) - Minnesota Department of Health Health statistics for Minnesota on the state and local community level, offered through the Minnesota Department of Health. Includes: collection and analysis of health-related data; design and implementation of public health surveys; coordination of health data collection efforts and the state and local level.
Minnesota Department of Health "The department’s mission is to protect, maintain and improve the health of all Minnesotans. It has about 1,500 employees and an annual budget of approximately $500 million in state , federal and fee-based funds."
Minnesota Legislative Reference Library, Health
The Minnesota Legislative Reference Library is the library that Minnesota legislators use for researching health policies. The Health links page links to other databases of Minnesota local and state statistics and data.
Minnesota State Demographic Center
"The Minnesota State Demographic Center analyzes and distributes data from state, U.S. Census Bureau and other sources."
MN Data Sources for County Health Rankings
MN Public Health Data Access Portal
NCHA (Minnesota State University's National College Health Assessment Data)
Substance Use Minnesota

Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (CDC) "The Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is the nation's premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services."
Center for Disaease Control and Prevention Data and Statistics A list of data and statistical resources compiled by the CDC.
Demographic and Health Surveys "Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) are nationally-representative household surveys that provide data for a wide range of monitoring and impact evaluation indicators in the areas of population, health, and nutrition."
Global Health Observatory (GHO) Data "... provide data and analyses on global health priorities."
Health Evidence (McMaster University, Hamilton, Ontario) "Search healthevidence.org for access to 4,260 quality-rated systematic reviews evaluating the effectiveness of public health interventions."
Health Information National Trends Survey (HINTS) "HINTS collects nationally representative data routinely about the American public's use of cancer-related information. The survey: Provides updates on changing patterns, needs, and information opportunities in health Identifies changing communications trends and practices Assesses cancer information access and usage Provides information about how cancer risks are perceived Offers a testbed to researchers to test new theories in health communication"
HealthData.gov "This site is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all."
National Center for Health Statistics (CDC) National Center for Health Statistics compiles statistical information "to guide actions and policies to improve the health of our people." "Our health statistics allow us to: document the health status of the population and of important subgroups identify disparities in health status and use of health care by race or ethnicity, socioeconomic status, region, and other population characteristics describe our experiences with the health care system monitor trends in health status and health care delivery identify health problems support biomedical and health services research provide information for making changes in public policies and programs evaluate the impact of health policies and programs"
Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results Program "he Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER) Program of the National Cancer Institute works to provide information on cancer statistics in an effort to reduce the burden of cancer among the U.S. population."
U.S. State Health Facts (Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation) "State Health Facts is a project of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation and provides free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data for all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the United States, counties, territories, and other geographies. State Health Facts is comprised of more than 800 health indicators and provides users with the ability to map, rank, trend, and download data. Data come from a variety of public and private sources, including Kaiser Family Foundation reports, public websites, government surveys and reports, and private organizations. Data presented on State Health Facts are updated or added as new data become available; the update schedule varies from indicator to indicator. The availability of older or “archived” data is limited and varies by indicator."
WISQARS (Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System) "CDC’s WISQARS™ (Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System) is an interactive, online database that provides fatal and nonfatal injury, violent death, and cost of injury data from a variety of trusted sources. Researchers, the media, public health professionals, and the public can use WISQARS™ data to learn more about the public health and economic burden associated with unintentional and violence-related injury in the United States."

American College Health Association National College Health Assessment
American Community Survey
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (CDC) "The Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is the nation's premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services."
Center for Community Health and Development at the University of Kansas - Community Evaluation - Behavioral Surveys
Minnesota Center for Health Statistics Minnesota Student Survey
National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey
The National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) is a program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States. The survey is unique in that it combines interviews and physical examinations.
National Health Interview Survey
Nurses' Health Studies
School Health Policies and Practices Study (SHPPS)
School Health Profiles
Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS)

Explore Web Resources

American Academy of Health Behavior (AAHB) "The mission of the American Academy of Health Behavior™ is to serve as the “research home” for health behavior scholars and researchers whose primary commitment is to excellence in research and the application of research to practice to improve the public's health."
American Public Health Association (APHA) "APHA champions the health of all people and all communities. We strengthen the public health profession. We speak out for public health issues and policies backed by science. We are the only organization that influences federal policy, has a 140-plus year perspective and brings together members from all fields of public health."
Coalition of National Health Education Organizations (CNHEO) "The Coalition has as its primary mission the mobilization of the resources of the Health Education Profession in order to expand and improve health education, regardless of the setting."
Global Health Council "As the shared voice of the global health community, Global Health Council (GHC) facilitates critical discussion around global health priorities and advocates for improved investments and policies to advance the global health agenda."
Health Care Education Association (HCEA) "... s a multi-disciplinary professional organization comprised of health care educators who are committed to improving healthcare outcomes through evidence-based patient, family, consumer, community and staff education, resource development and communications."
National Commission for Health Education Credentialing (NCHEC) "he mission of NCHEC is to enhance the professional practice of Health Education by promoting and sustaining a credentialed body of Health Education Specialists. To meet this mission, NCHEC certifies health education specialists, promotes professional development, and strengthens professional preparation and practice. Our charge is to develop and administer a national competency-based examination; develop standards for professional preparation; and promote professional development through continuing education for health education professionals."
Society for Public Health Education (SOPHE) "For more than 60 years, the Society for Public Health Education (SOPHE) has served as an independent professional association represented by a diverse membership of nearly 4,000 health education professionals and students throughout the United States and 25 international countries. The organization promotes healthy behaviors, healthy communities, and healthy environments through its membership, its network of local chapters, and its numerous partnerships with other organizations. SOPHE members work in elementary/secondary schools, universities, voluntary organizations, health care settings, worksites, and local/state/federal government agencies."

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality "The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's (AHRQ) mission is to produce evidence to make health care safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable, and affordable, and to work within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and with other partners to make sure that the evidence is understood and used."
Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) "CDC works 24/7 to protect America from health, safety and security threats, both foreign and in the U.S. Whether diseases start at home or abroad, are chronic or acute, curable or preventable, human error or deliberate attack, CDC fights disease and supports communities and citizens to do the same."
GlobalHealth.gov "The Office of Global Affairs (OGA) is part of the HHS Office of the Secretary. OGA promotes the health and well-being of Americans and of the world’s population by advancing HHS’s global strategies and partnerships and working with USG agencies in the coordination of global health policy."
Health.gov "The Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion develops and coordinates high impact national disease prevention and health promotion activities. From setting national health objectives and guidelines for various conditions and processes to promoting effective health communication, we’re helping lead the way toward a healthier Nation."
Minnesota Department of Health "The department’s mission is to protect, maintain and improve the health of all Minnesotans. It has about 1,500 employees and an annual budget of approximately $500 million in state , federal and fee-based funds."
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS.gov) "It is the mission of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (HHS) to enhance and protect the health and well-being of all Americans. We fulfill that mission by providing for effective health and human services and fostering advances in medicine, public health, and social services."
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services--Office of Minority Health "The mission of the Office of Minority Health is to improve the health of racial and ethnic minority populations through the development of health policies and programs that will eliminate health disparities."
World Health Organization (WHO) "Our primary role is to direct and coordinate international health within the United Nations’ system. These are our main areas of work: Health systems Promoting health through the life-course Noncommunicable diseases Communicable diseases Corporate services Preparedness, surveillance and response."

Center for Science in the Public Interest "... CSPI carved out a niche as the organized voice of the American public on nutrition, food safety, health and other issues during a boom of consumer and environmental protection awareness in the early 1970s. CSPI has long sought to educate the public, advocate government policies that are consistent with scientific evidence on health and environmental issues, and counter industry’s powerful influence on public opinion and public policies."
Chronic Disease GIS Exchange (CDC) "The Chronic Disease GIS exchange is an on-line forum for public health professionals and community leaders to learn and share techniques for using GIS to enhance chronic disease prevention and treatment."
Darmouth Atlas of Health Care (Center for the Evaluative Clinical Sciences at Dartmouth Medical School) "For more than 20 years, the Dartmouth Atlas Project has documented glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians."
Global Health Hub "The Global Health Hub is a volunteer-run site that aims to provide an online gateway to news, commentary and resources related to global health for public health professionals. Our team of volunteers publishes original commentary while curating aggregated content from traditional and non-mainstream sources to provide a dynamic information portal for the global health community."
Global Health Policy (Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation) "Kaiser is a non-profit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. Unlike grant-making foundations, Kaiser develops and runs its own policy analysis, journalism and communications programs, sometimes in partnership with major news organizations. We serve as a non-partisan source of facts, analysis and journalism for policymakers, the media, the health policy community and the public. Our product is information, always provided free of charge — from the most sophisticated policy research, to basic facts and numbers, to in depth health policy news coverage provided by our news service, KHN, to information young people can use to improve their health or the general public can use to understand the health reform law."
Grey Literature Report in Public Health (New York Academy of Medicine) "The report is a bimonthly publication of The New York Academy of Medicine alerting readers to new grey literature publications in health services research and selected public health topics. The database platform is keyword searchable and serves as an archive for the cataloged reports."
The Guide to Community Preventive Services "The Guide to Community Preventive Services is a free resource to help you choose programs and policies to improve health and prevent disease in your community. Systematic reviews are used to answer these questions: Which program and policy interventions have been proven effective? Are there effective interventions that are right for my community? What might effective interventions cost; what is the likely return on investment?"
Health Literacy Studies (Harvard T. H. Chan Harvard School of Public Health "This HSPH Health Literacy website was designed for professionals in health and education who are interested in health literacy. It was the first academic site to provide resources and links in the burgeoning area of health literacy studies and practice."
Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME) "The Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME) is an independent global health research center at the University of Washington that provides rigorous and comparable measurement of the world's most important health problems and evaluates the strategies used to address them. IHME makes this information freely available so that policymakers have the evidence they need to make informed decisions about how to allocate resources to best improve population health."
International Food Information Council Foundation "... a nutrition and food safety resource for consumers, health professionals, journalists, educators, government officials, and students. We provide important and timely resources on a variety of topics such as weight management, diet (food) and health, food safety, food production, international food issues, and communications."
U.S. Preventive Services Task Force "Created in 1984, the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force is an independent, volunteer panel of national experts in prevention and evidence-based medicine. The Task Force works to improve the health of all Americans by making evidence-based recommendations about clinical preventive services such as screenings, counseling services, and preventive medications."

	In Person
	E-mail
	Text: 1-507-203-1697
	Appointment
	Phone: 1-507-389-5958
	Search our FAQs