Ask a Librarian
Study Guide for Drug & Alcohol Credentialing
-
Getting Ready to Test: A review and preparation Manual for Drug and Alcohol Credentialing Exams
Call Number: Copy 1: Circulation Desk (3 day loan) -1st Floor: HV5279 .G488 2014
Copy 2: 2nd floor, Call no. HV5279 .G488 2014A comprehensive manual that will help you prepare for either the IC&RC, NAADAC, or NATI written exams. It includes a 150-question sample written exam - designed to make you feel more comfortable with the actual exam as well as to help you focus your study and preparation time.
Encyclopedias and Background Information
Encyclopedias and dictionaries often ...
- provide an overview of the topic
- help you to understand the topic
- provide additional resources
Here is an example:
-
Encyclopedia of Substance Abuse Prevention, Treatment, and Recovery
Call Number: Ebook-click on titleThe Encyclopedia's approximately 350 A-to-Z signed entries focus on the information that addiction treatment and prevention professionals and allied health professionals need to effectively work with clients.
-
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Contains electronic reference titles from Sage. Users can search and browse the full-text equivalent handbooks, encyclopedias, and other titles.
-
Alcohol and Drugs in North America
by
Call Number: Ebook--click on title to accessISBN: 9781598844795Publication Date: 2013-01-01 -
Alcohol and Temperance in Modern History
by
Call Number: Reference Collection (Non-circulating)--1st Floor HV5017 .A43 2003ISBN: 9781576078334Publication Date: 2003 -
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®)
by
Call Number: Ebook--click on title to accessISBN: 9780890425541Publication Date: 2013 -
Drugs and Controlled Substances for Students
Call Number: Reference Collection (Non-circulating)--1st Floor HV5809.5 .D784 2003ISBN: 9780787662646Publication Date: 2003 -
The Encyclopedia of Addictions and Addictive Behaviors
by
Call Number: Reference Collection (Non-circulating)--1st Floor RC564 .G95 2006ISBN: 9780816057078Publication Date: 2006 -
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive Behavior
by
Call Number: Ebook--click on title to accessISBN: 9780028661148Publication Date: 2009 -
Handbook of the Medical Consequences of Alcohol and Drug Abuse
by
Call Number: Reference Collection (Non-circulating)--1st Floor RC564 .H3585 2008ISBN: 9780789035738Publication Date: 2008 -
Mental Health Care Issues in America
by
Call Number: Reference Collection (Non-circulating)--1st Floor RC437 .M46 2013ISBN: 9781610690133Publication Date: 2013 -
Who's buying alcoholic and nonalcoholic beverages (9th ed.)
Call Number: Ebook--click on title to accessISBN: 9781940308289Publication Date: 2013
Find Articles
-
Medline This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to articles covering all medical topics, including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services.
-
TOXLINE This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to articles about all areas of toxicology, including chemicals & pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens & teratogens.
-
Nursing and Allied Health Premium Database This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and selected full text to articles about all aspects of nursing and allied health.
-
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to nursing and allied health journals, as well as citations and abstracts to articles. Includes a broad range of nursing specializations.
-
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides access to nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals that focus on various medical disciplines.
-
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
-
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to articles and books about psychology and "disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work."
-
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to articles and proceedings about social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
-
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to articles about sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
-
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts "covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education."
-
Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to articles and other materials covering all areas of biological sciences, including biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
-
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
Contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare.
-
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to worldwide literature on PTSD and other psychological effects of trauma from the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD.
Click here to get step-by-step instructions for how to find articles on a selected topic.
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to articles, as well as full text of articles from over 4,600 publications, covering almost every academic subject.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text newspaper articles from many states and countries, transcripts from mostly major American news sources, and provides citations and selected full-text to legal materials.
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of disciplines such as agriculture, biology & genetics, arts & humanities, biochemistry, business, chemical engineering, chemistry, computer science, earth & planetary sciences, economics, environmental science, mathematics, medicine & dentistry, physics & astronomy, social sciences, and veterinary science & medicine.
-
Ageline This link opens in a new window
Provides citations & abstracts to articles, books, & other materials about all aspects of gerontology.
-
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Provides the largest and most complete collection of full text journals in education research and is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers.
-
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The Educational Resources Information Center database provides extensive access to educational-related literature and information in a variety of formats.
-
ERIC on ProQuest This link opens in a new window
The Educational Resources Information Center database provides extensive access to educational-related literature and information in a variety of formats.
-
Rand Reports This link opens in a new window
A public policy research institution, the RAND Corporation focuses its research on a wide range of policy issues including national security, transportation & infrastructure, international affairs, workforce & labor issues, education, public safety, environmental issues, and healthcare.
-
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980's.
-
Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides full text articles from alternative and independent press.
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and full text to newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Articles not owned by MSU Memorial Library can be requested from another library by submitting an interlibrary loan request. For information about this service, click here.
Find Books
Watch a YouTube video on finding books in Memorial Library
or
Click here to get step-by-step instructions for how to find books on a selected topic.
-
WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to books and other materials (including those that are out of print) held by libraries worldwide and allows users to request books via Interlibrary Loan.
Books not owned by MSU Memorial Library can be requested from another library by submitting an interlibrary loan request. For information about this service, click here.
Find Statistics and Data
Statistics often provide a concise and effective means to ...
- explain a viewpoint
- integrate evidence to support an opinion or claim
- assist in presenting research data in a logical and easy to understand manner
-
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention The CDC is the major national public health institute of the United States. The CDC website has extensive information about health topics and statistics.
-
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
PolicyMap is a data and mapping tool used by government agencies, universities, healthcare institutions and nonprofits to solve place-based problems.
-
County Health Rankings and Roadmaps, Minnesota Ranks counties in Minnesota based on health outcomes and health factors.
-
Minnesota Center for Health Statistics (MCHS) - Minnesota Department of Health Health statistics for Minnesota on the state and local community level, offered through the Minnesota Department of Health. Includes: collection and analysis of health-related data; design and implementation of public health surveys; coordination of health data collection efforts and the state and local level.
-
Minnesota Department of Health "The department’s mission is to protect, maintain and improve the health of all Minnesotans. It has about 1,500 employees and an annual budget of approximately $500 million in state , federal and fee-based funds."
-
Minnesota Legislative Reference Library, HealthThe Minnesota Legislative Reference Library is the library that Minnesota legislators use for researching health policies. The Health links page links to other databases of Minnesota local and state statistics and data.
-
Minnesota State Demographic Center"The Minnesota State Demographic Center analyzes and distributes data from state, U.S. Census Bureau and other sources."
-
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (CDC) "The Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is the nation's premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services."