Library Class and Subject Guides: Construction Management: OSHA and Safety Information

OSHA (Occupational Safety and Health Administration)

With the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970, Congress created the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) to ensure safe and healthful working conditions for workers by setting and enforcing standards and by providing training, outreach, education and assistance.

A standard (or regulation) is a regulatory requirement established and published by the agency to serve as criteria for measuring whether employers are in compliance with the Occupational Safety and Health Act laws. OSHA standards are published in Title 29 of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) and are divided into separate standards for General Industry, Construction, and Maritime.

Overview of OSHA
Find out more about the Occupational Safety and Health Administration.
Search and Access OSHA Standards
Scroll down the page to the section marked "Standards" and you will be able to search and access OSHA Standards.
Browse OSHA Standards by Standard Number
Browse the OSHA Standards by Number.

eBooks on Construction Safety

Construction Project Safety by John Schaufelberger and Ken-Yu Lin
Publication Date: 2013
This introduction to construction safety for construction management personnel takes a project-based approach to present potential hazards in construction and their mitigation or prevention. After introducing Accident Prevention Programs and OSHA compliance requirements, the book integrates safety instruction into the building process by following a building project from site construction through interior finish. Reinforcing this applied approach are photographs, drawings, contract documentation, and an online 3D BIM model to help visualize the onsite scenarios.
Construction Safety by Rita Yi Man Li and Sun Wah Poon
Publication Date: 2013
This book sketches the construction accidents on sites, followed by a review on safety measures in some of the developing countries such as Bermuda, Egypt, Kuwait and China; as well as developed countries, for example, the United States, France and Singapore.
Construction Safety: Health, Practices and OSHA by M. Rashad Islam
Publication Date: 2021
This practical guide provides a student-friendly introduction to all aspects of construction safety. Encompassing the many different types of construction projects, the book covers the key elements of safety, including exposures to toxic and hazardous materials.
Handbook of OSHA construction safety and health by Charles D. Reese
Publication Date: 2006
A practical guide for eliminating safety and health hazards from construction worksites, the Handbook of OSHA Construction Safety and Health addresses the occupational safety and health issues faced by those working in the construction industry.
Integrating Work Health and Safety into Construction Project Management by Helen Lingard and Ron Wakefield
Publication Date: 2019
Provides insights into how health and safety can be more effectively integrated into the procurement, design, and management of construction projects
Principles of construction safety by Allan St. John Holt
Publication Date: 2001
This book provides a unique resource for all those who construct or procure the construction of projects of all sizes and in all countries and for clients who need to keep abreast of their own and their contractors' responsibilities.
Strategic Safety Management in Construction and Engineering by Riza Yosia Sunindijo and Patrick X. W. Zou
Publication Date: 2015
Strategic Safety Management in Construction and Engineering takes a broad view of safety from a strategic decision making and management perspective with a particular focus on the need to balance and integrate 'science' and 'art' when implementing safety management.
Unpacking Construction Site Safety by Fred Sherratt
Publication Date: 2016
Unpacking Construction Site Safety provides a different perspective of safety in practice. It examines how useful the concept of safety actually is to the development of effective management interventions providing new insights and information to the audience, and assists in a more informed development of new approaches in practice aimed at safety and construction management practitioners as well as academics.

Additional Resources on Construction Safety

American Society of Safety Professionals (ASSP)
The American Society of Safety Professionals provides education, advocacy, standards development and a professional community to our members in order to advance their careers and the Occupational Safety and Health profession as a whole.
Associaion of Construction Safety Professionals (ACSP)
In addition to providing professional certifications for safety practitioners, the ACSP also conducts on site, and online training that meets OSHA and ANSI training standards.
Construction Fire Safety Coalition
The Construction Fire Safety Coalition mission is to educate public and private sector organizations on how to reduce the frequency and severity of fires during construction.
Construction Industry Safety Coalition (CISC)
The Construction Industry Safety Coalition (CISC) is made up of 30 trade associations, representing associations from all sectors of the construction industry, including commercial building, heavy industrial production, home building, road repair, specialty trade contractors, material suppliers, and construction equipment manufacturers. Workplace safety and health is a priority for all members of the coalition, and each is committed to helping create safer construction jobsites for workers. CISC was formed in 2013 to provide data and information to OSHA on regulatory, interpretive and policy initiatives.
Construction Safety Council
The Construction Safety Council was founded in 1989 as a non-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of safety and health interests in the field of construction throughout the world. The Construction Safety Council, in partnership with Northern Illinois University, is one of only 26 OSHA-authorized Education Centers nationwide.
National Environmental, Safety, and Health Training Association (NESHTA)
NESHTA is a non-profit professional and educational society for educators and trainers specializing in environmental, safety, occupational health, emergency response and other technical education fields. Founded in 1977 as the National Environmental Training Association, Inc. (NETA) with support and assistance from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, NESHTA now is an international society dedicated to promoting competency and excellency in worker education and training, and in all education and training.
National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) and Construction Site Fire Safety
Did you know there were an average of 3,840 construction fires each year between 2013 and 2017 alone? Those fires during construction, renovation, and demolition caused 49 civilian injuries and $304 million in property damage annually. The best way to prevent destruction, construction delays, injuries, and increased expenses is to make sure everyone on the site knows how to identify hazards. That’s why NFPA brought all our related safety resources together in one place for you. Whether you’re a facility manager or building owner, a contractor or installer, or an enforcement authority having jurisdiction (AHJ)—you can help increase knowledge and awareness to recognize hazards before they turn into disasters.
National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)
The Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970 established NIOSH as a research agency focused on the study of worker safety and health, and empowering employers and workers to create safe and healthy workplaces. NIOSH is part of the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, in the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Safety and Health (from the Associated General Contractors of America)
AGC members consider safety and health on job sites as a top priority in the workplace. AGC's Safety and Health Services provides a wealth of information and services on construction safety and health through our numerous safety resources.