Library Class and Subject Guides: Construction Management: Find Articles using Databases

Find Articles for Most Construction Management Topics

These search tools, also known as databases, will help you find peer-reviewed journal articles, an essential resource for assignments. Visit our Articles guide for detailed instructions.

ASCE Library This link opens in a new window
Searchable and browsable collection of full image articles published in American Society of Civil Engineers journals, covering all aspects of civil engineering, including planning, construction management, environment, transportation, and waterways.
The default search goes to the index for ALL content from ASCE, not just what we pay for. If you are asked to login or register for access, this means that we do not have access to that particular book, conference proceedings or standard. You can request these materials through interlibrary loan.
ASME Transactions Journals This link opens in a new window
Our subscription to the publications of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers is partial. We subscribe to 24 of their current publications from 2000-present.
ASM Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
American Society for Metals Handbooks contains a comprehensive source of information on ferrous and non-ferrous metals and materials technology with articles, illustrations, tables, graphs, specifications, and practical examples.
ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library (SEDL) includes all 13,000 ASTM standards, as well as Manuals, Monographs, Data Series, STPs (Special Technical Publications) and 8 Journals.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A premier database for research in electrical engineering, electronics, computer science & related disciplines; IEEE Xplore includes access to over 5 million full-text documents such as journals, magazines, conferences, and standards.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Search topics related to business that includes journal articles, company reports, industry/country reports, ebooks, videos, case studies, and more.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of disciplines such as agriculture, biology & genetics, arts & humanities, biochemistry, business, chemical engineering, chemistry, computer science, earth & planetary sciences, economics, environmental science, mathematics, medicine & dentistry, physics & astronomy, social sciences, and veterinary science & medicine.
Springer Journal Package This link opens in a new window
Provides researchers with access to scientific documents from journals of various disciplines.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

Types of Sources

	Scholarly Publications	Substantive/Trade Publications	Popular Publications	Sensationalist Publications
Audience	Academics, professors, students.	Educated audiences, practitioners.	General public.	Gullible audiences.
Author	Scholars, experts, and specialists; credentials are listed.	Credentialed journalists; professionals and industry experts; credentials are usually listed.	Professional writers: journalists, staff, freelance writers; not necessarily experts in the field; authors and/or credentials not always listed.	Anyone.
Publisher	Academic presses and professional organizations.	Nationally and internationally recognized organizations.	Commercial businesses.	Varies. Ranges from individuals to politically-minded groups to hate groups.
Purpose	Report on scholarship and research.	Share news and trends with industry professionals.	Information and/or entertainment.	Cater to superstitions; elicit emotions and strong feelings for or against a particular topic.
Tone	Factual, technical, and scholarly language.	Formal, technical language. Often uses industry jargon.	Relatively simple language.	Sensational terms. Propaganda. Often uses inflammatory or derogatory language.
Appearance	Usually plain. May have tables, graphs, charts, and formulas. If photographs are present, they are directly associated with the topic.	Tables, charts, graphs, and images related to the article. More graphic design elements than scholarly publications.	Eye-catching and colorful.	Eye-catching and colorful; sometimes newspaper-like. Often only available online.
Advertisements	Limited to advertisements for books and journals.	Most often limited to advertisements for items directly related to the publication or trade; some paid advertisements.	Paid advertisements.	Paid advertisements, often making their own sensationalist claims. Clickbait.
Review Process	Reviewed by scholars. All data and interpretations of data are checked.	Reviewed by professional editors employed by the publication. Facts are checked.	Reviewed by professional editors employed by the publication. Facts might be checked.	No apparent or consistent review process.
Sources	Always contains a bibliography, works cited, or references.	Often contains in-text citations. May contain references list.	Rarely identifies sources.	Rarely identifies sources. If sources are listed, they may not actually be reliable sources of information.
Examples	Journal of Construction Engineering and Management, Construction and Building Materials, International Journal of Construction Management	Engineering News Record (ENR); Professional Builder; Government reports and datasets.	Field and Stream, Sports Illustrated; Time; Newsweek	Globe; National Enquirer; Star; Weekly World News