Education (Special Education)

AJIDD is among the top three journals in the special education and rehabilitation fields according to the latest industry impact factor rankings. The AJIDD reports current and critical research in biological, behavioral, and educational sciences. It is a singular, multidisciplinary resource in the causes, treatment, and prevention of intellectual disabilities. The premier journal in its field for more than 100 years, the journal is an essential reference and resource tool for health sciences and human services libraries. The AJIDD is targeted for researchers, clinicians, practitioners, students, and other professionals in intellectual disabilities and related disabilities.

This journal is dedicated to the scientific study of dyslexia, its comorbid conditions; and theory-based practices on remediation, and intervention of dyslexia and related areas of written language disorders, including spelling, composing and mathematics.

Autism is a major, peer-reviewed, international journal, published 8 times a year, publishing research of direct and practical relevance to help improve the quality of life for individuals with autism or autism-related disorders. 

Behavioral Disorders (BD) addresses compelling issues related to individuals with behavioral challenges. Regular features include Research-based articles which discuss evidence-based practices for use with challenging behaviors. 

This journal is concerned with a wide range of special educational needs, and covers all levels of education pre-school, school, and post-school.

Disability & Society is a disability studies journal providing a focus for debate about such issues as human rights, discrimination, policy and practices.

Dyslexia provides reviews and reports of research, assessment and intervention practice. In many fields of enquiry theoretical advances often occur in response to practical needs; and a central aim of the journal is to bring together researchers and practitioners in the field of dyslexia, so that each can learn from the other. Interesting developments, both theoretical and practical, are being reported in many different countries: Dyslexia is a forum in which a knowledge of these developments can be shared by readers in all parts of the world.

Publishes research on issues related to special needs and inclusive education with a focus on Europe, reflecting the growth of theory and practice in the field.

The Council for Exceptional Children's quarterly research journal that publishes insightful and pioneering original research that focuses on children with exceptionalities.

Publishes research on special education and exceptionality to further the knowledge base and improve services to persons with disabilities and gifted behavior.

Exceptionality Education International provides a forum for research and dialogue on topics relevant to the education of people with exceptionalities and how barriers to the full participation of all people in education can be reduced and removed. People with exceptionalities are those from groups who have been traditionally marginalized in education as the result of ability, culture, ethnicity, gender, identity, language, religion, sexual orientation, and socio-economic status. Exceptionality Education International publishes original, peer-reviewed articles and reviews on topics including but not limited to pedagogy, school and system organization and management, curricula, policy, inclusion, marginalization, international and national trends, classroom practice, adult education, educational innovations and initiatives, and teacher education.

IDD is among the top journals in special education and rehabilitation. It is a multidisciplinary journal of policy, practices, and perspectives for professionals interested in intellectual and related developmental disabilities. As a journal with an applied focus, IDD provides a forum for the dissemination of rigorously reviewed, actionable information that is relevant to emerging policies, innovative practices, and transformative concepts.  

The content of IJDDE reflects a variety of topics, disciplines, research methods and cultural perspectives. Various orientations are represented, including education and special education, psychology, allied health, social work and psychiatry. Contributions from developed and developing countries ensure a truly international perspective.

Open-access, peer-reviewed journal offering scholarly articles on various issues of young children with special needs (age 0-8) and their families. It includes empirical research, literature reviews, theoretical articles, and book reviews in all aspects of Early Intervention.

Papers published are original, refereed, multi-disciplinary research into pedagogies, curricula, organizational structures, policy-making, administration and cultures to include all students in education.

The International Journal of Special Education publishes original articles concerning special education. Experimental, as well as, theoretical articles are sought from all over the world. Authors are encouraged to submit reviews of research, historical and philosophical reviews in addition to evidence based data of the effectiveness of innovative approaches.

JARID is an international, peer-reviewed journal which draws together findings derived from original applied research in intellectual disabilities. The topics it covers include community living, quality of life, challenging behaviour, communication, sexuality, medication, ageing, supported employment, family issues, mental health, physical health, autism, economic issues, social networks, staff stress, staff training, epidemiology and service provision.

Peer-reviewed, scholarly periodical focusing on all aspects of autism spectrum disorders and related developmental disabilities.

An international forum dedicated to publishing original research papers on the application of behavioral principles and technology to education.

Offers blind peer reviewed articles "related to research and practice in early intervention for infants and young children with special needs and their families. . . .Key features include research reports, scholarly reviews, policy analyses, research methods, and "Innovative Practices".

Offers interdisciplinary research, practice, and commentary related to individuals with emotional and behavioral disabilities. Each issue explores critical and diverse topics such as youth violence, functional assessment, school-wide discipline, mental health services, positive behavior supports, and educational strategies.

An ISI ranked journal sponsored by mencap a UK-based "organisation promoting the interests of people with intellectual disability/learning disability and their families." Includes peer reviewed research and invited expert reviews.

Provides educators of children and youth with special needs with information pertaining to the field of special education throughout the world.

Multidisciplinary, international publication, presents work and comments related to learning disabilities.

JORSEN will provide essential reading for those working in the special educational needs field wherever that work takes place around the world. It will be of particular interest to those working in: research, teaching and learning support, policymaking, administration and supervision, educational psychology, advocacy.

This open access, peer reviewed journal focuses on "science education for students with varying types and levels of disabilities." Browse individual issues or search by keyword in the left navigation.

Provides research articles and scholarly reviews on special education for individuals with mild to severe disabilities.

JSLHR publishes peer-reviewed research and other scholarly articles on the normal and disordered processes in speech, language, hearing, and related areas such as cognition, oral-motor function, and swallowing. The journal is an international outlet for both basic research on communication processes and clinical research pertaining to screening, diagnosis, and management of communication disorders as well as the etiologies and characteristics of these disorders. 

Seeks to promote the professional exchange among special educators worldwide, and to develop special education as a discipline and profession. May have ceased publication in 2018.

 The international peer-reviewed journal of record in the field, it delivers current research and best practice information, commentary from experts on critical topics, news, and events.

Learning Disability Quarterly publishes high-quality research and scholarship concerning children, youth, and adults with learning disabilities. Consistent with that purpose, the journal seeks to publish articles with the potential to impact and improve educational outcomes, opportunities, and services.

Psychology in the Schools is a peer-reviewed journal devoted to research, opinion, and practice. The journal, which is published ten times per year, welcomes theoretical and applied manuscripts, focusing on the issues confronting school psychologists, teachers, counselors, administrators, and other personnel workers in schools and colleges, public and private organizations.

Offers interdisciplinary articles that bridge the gap between theory and practice involving the education of individuals for whom typical instruction is not effective. Articles include topical reviews, syntheses of research, field evaluation studies, and recommendations for practice of remedial and special education.

Research in Autism Spectrum Disorders (RASD) publishes high quality empirical articles and reviews that contribute to a better understanding of Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASD) at all levels of description; genetic, neurobiological, cognitive, and behavioral. The primary focus of the journal is to bridge the gap between basic research at these levels, and the practical questions and difficulties that are faced by individuals with ASD and their families, as well as carers, educators and clinicians. In addition, the journal encourages submissions on topics that remain under-researched in the field. 

Research In Developmental Disabilities is an international journal aimed at publishing original research of an interdisciplinary nature that has a direct bearing on the understanding or remediation of problems associated with developmental disabilities.

Provides critical reviews of topics spanning the broad range of research disciplines exploring autism spectrum and developmental disorders. Coverage extends to genetics, neuroscience, diagnosis, applied behavior analysis, psychopharmacology, incidence, prevalence, etiology, differential diagnosis, treatment, measurement of treatment effects, education, perception and cognition, across the life span.

Offers research on exceptionality and the teaching of exceptional children, as well as the critical issues shaping the future of teacher education.

Thematic issues on all aspects of speech production theory, research and practice as it applies to children and youth who are hearing impaired.