About Background Information
Reference resources, like encyclopedias and dictionaries, provide background information to help you understand your topic. Background information can be especially useful if you are researching in an area that is relatively new to you or that you don't have expertise in.
General Reference Resources
-
Britannica Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides trusted information with balanced, global perspectives and insights that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries.
-
Britannica Library This link opens in a new window
Contains 4 full encyclopedias: the Encyclopedia Britannica, Compton’s by Britannica, Britannica Elementary Encyclopedia, and Britannica Concise Encyclopedia, each covering the research needs of different age groups.
-
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides full text reports that comprise in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
-
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts; presents all sides of important issues, and empowers learners to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills.
-
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue.
