It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This Library Guide is a guide to academic library research made just for you! It contains information to help you find and use resources, cite your information, and choose a research topic for your composition assignments. For additional assistance, contact a librarian or talk to your course instructor.
Need a Topic?
Need help choosing a topic?
Try looking through the databases below. Use them to browse for possible topics or to start gathering information on a topic.
Provides full text reports that comprise "in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each report is investigated and written by a seasoned journalist...sections include a background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Comprehensive full text collection of primary source U.S. congressional committee prints and Congressional Research Service reports covering all aspects of U.S. politics and culture, including economics, business, science and technology, international relations, social issues, finance, insurance, and medicine.
Points of View Reference Center is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides 250 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point(argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide.
The database also offers guides to debate, developing arguments, and writing position papers. *This resource is provided by the Electronic Library of Minnesota, freely accessible to anyone in Minnesota!*
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints covers today’s hottest social issues. This online resource helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.