Weather: Weather Data and Other Resources

NOAA’s National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI) are responsible for hosting and providing access to one of the most significant archives on earth, with comprehensive oceanic, atmospheric, and geophysical data. From the depths of the ocean to the surface of the sun and from million-year-old tree rings to near real-time satellite images, NCEI is the Nation’s leading authority for environmental information. NCEI is the world’s largest provider of weather and climate data. Land-based, marine, model, radar, weather balloon, satellite, and paleoclimatic are just a few of the types of datasets available. Detailed descriptions of the available products and platforms are below. Formally the National Climatic Data Center (NCDC).

Climate Data Online (CDO) provides free access to NCDC's historic archive of global historical weather and climate data in addition to station history information. These data include quality controlled daily, monthly, seasonal, and yearly measurements of temperature, precipitation, wind, and degree days as well as radar data and 30-year Climate Normals.

The Earth Observing System Data and Information System (EOSDIS) is a key core capability in NASA’s Earth Science Data Systems Program. It provides end-to-end capabilities for managing NASA’s Earth science data from various sources – satellites, aircraft, field measurements, and various other programs. For the EOS satellite missions, EOSDIS provides capabilities for command and control, scheduling, data capture and initial (Level 0) processing.

The National Snow and Ice Data Center (NSIDC) supports research into our world’s frozen realms: the snow, ice, glaciers, frozen ground, and climate interactions that make up Earth’s cryosphere. NSIDC manages and distributes scientific data, creates tools for data access, supports data users, performs scientific research, and educates the public about the cryosphere.

The National Weather Service provides weather, water, and climate data, forecasts and warnings for the protection of life and property and enhancement of the national economy.

NOAA Climate.gov is a source of timely and authoritative scientific data and information about climate.

The US Drought Portal, which among other things, provides information about risk and impact of droughts and information about past droughts for comparison.

The MRCC provides high-quality climate data, derived information, and data summaries for the Midwest. They monitor and assess regional climate conditions and their impacts. They prepare specialized historical climate data sets, and coordinate and conduct applied research on climate-related issues and problems.

A collaboration of the DNR and University of Minnesota, the office represents the state as members of the American Association of State Climatologists (AASC).

The AASC Climate Service Catalog is an ongoing effort to document the online climate- related services provided by AASC members. The services provided by the state climate offices are the primary focus, but online climate tools offered by other membership and partners (including the regional climate centers, NCDC, and other NOAA agencies) that are of interest to the public are also listed.

The DDC provides climate, socio-economic and environmental data, both from the past and also in scenarios projected into the future. Technical guidelines on the selection and use of different types of data and scenarios in research and assessment are also provided.

Provides current and historic climate data for Canada.

Climate Reanalyzer is being developed by the Climate Change Institute at the University of Maine to provide an intuitive platform for visualizing a variety of weather and climate datasets and models. Investigate climate using interfaces for reanalysis and historical station data. Plot maps, timeseries, and correlations; export timeseries data to a text file for later use in spreadsheet software; export map layers to Google Earth.

Monthly Climatic Data for the World (MCDW) is a publication of monthly summary climatic data from
around the world. Data are prepared by Members of the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) for
selected stations and exchanged monthly. Note the Archival issues are in the box to the left.

The IRI Data Library is a powerful and freely accessible online data repository and analysis tool that allows a user to view, analyze, and download hundreds of terabytes of climate-related data through a standard web browser.

This link is to NOAA Central Library's Archive of Daily Weather Maps. Contemporary maps (2002-present) are available at the Weather Prediction Center web site which is linked from this page. Library has some print issues at call number C 55.195 in government documents.

The archive of this monthly publication goes back to 1999 on this site. The monthly Bulletin reports on the previous months' status of the ocean-atmosphere climate system and provides various seasonal ENSO-related outlooks. We have print issues from 1984-1994 at C 55.194 in government documents.

Monthly issues contains monthly mean temperature, pressure, precipitation, vapor pressure, and sunshine for approximately 2,000 surface data collection stations worldwide and monthly mean upper air temperatures, dew point depressions, and wind Velocities for approximately 500 observing sites. This link has issues back to 1948.

State level data, both monthly and annual. This site has issues going back over 100 years.

The Weekly Weather and Crop Bulletin (WWCB) is jointly prepared by the U.S. Department of Commerce, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, and the U.S. Department of Agriculture. The WWCB provides a vital source of information on weather, climate and agricultural developments worldwide, along with detailed charts and tables of agrometeorological information that are appropriate for the season. This site has issues back to 1971

The Mariners Weather Log (MWL), a publication of the National Weather Service (NWS), contains articles, news and information about marine weather events and phenomena, worldwide environmental impact concerns, climatology studies, storms at sea, and weather forecasting. This link has issues back to 1998. The library has print volumes back to 1979 at the call number C55.135 in government documents.