Library Class and Subject Guides: Public Administration: Web Sites/Data

Public Administration Associations and Thinks Tanks

American Society for Public Administration
The American Society for Public Administration is the largest and most prominent professional association for public administration. It is dedicated to advancing the art, science, teaching and practice of public and non-profit administration. ASPA’s four core values are Accountability and Performance, Professionalism, Ethics and Social Equity.
Government Accounting Standards Board (GASB)
The GASB is the independent organization that establishes and improves standards of accounting and financial reporting for U.S. state and local government.
International City/County Management Association
"ICMA, the International City/County Management Association, advances professional local government worldwide. The organization’s mission is to create excellence in local governance by developing and fostering professional management to build better communities."
National Academy of Public Administration
Chartered by Congress as an independent, non-partisan organization, the National Academy undertakes its important work on behalf of the public sector by anticipating, evaluating, analyzing and making recommendations on the nation’s most critical and complex public management, governance, policy and operational challenges.
National Association of Public Affiars and Administration
It is the membership organization of graduate education programs in public policy, public affairs, public administration, and public & nonprofit management.

Web Data Sources

Data.gov
"Data.gov increases the ability of the public to easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government."
Explore Census Data
Check out our new table display which allows you to dynamically add geographies, topics, or any applicable filters.
FRED--Federal Reserve Economic Data
"FRED is a database of over 55,000 economic time series from 45 sources. With FRED®, you can download data in Microsoft Excel and text formats and view charts of data series."
United States Bureau of Economic Analysis
"The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner. "
Bureau of Labor Statistics | Data Sources
Labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
American FactFinder
Includes Census and American Community Survey Data
Bureau of Justice Statistics
BJS's mission is to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
National Center for Education Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations. NCES is located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences.
HealthData.gov
"This site is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all."
Data.gov UK
There are currently over 5,400 datasets available, from all central government departments and a number of other public sector bodies and local authorities.
Office for National Statistics Datasets and Reference Tables United Kingdom
ONS is the UK’s largest independent producer of official statistics and the recognised national statistical institute of the UK. The ONS reports directly to the British Parliament.
World Bank Data
The World Bank provides free and open access to a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe, together with other datasets cited in the data catalog.
Tax Statistics: IRS
Here you will find a wide range of tables, articles, and data that describe and measure elements of the U.S. tax system.
American Housing Survey from the Department of Housing and Urban Development
The U.S. Census Bureau conducts the AHS to obtain up-to-date housing statistics for the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD).
Trade Data Web US International Trade Commission
The USITC Interactive Tariff and Trade DataWeb provides international trade statistics and U.S. tariff data to the public full-time and free of charge.
National Agricultural Statistics Service - Data and Statistics
The USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture.
USDA Economic Research Service Data
The Economic Research Service mission is to inform and enhance public and private decision making on economic and policy issues related to agriculture, food, the environment, and rural development
AgeStats.gov
AirData
Access to Monitored Air Quality Data from EPA’s Air Quality System (AQS) Data Mart.
Economics and Government Finance - Minnesota Legislative Reference Library
The Minnesota Legislative Reference Library's Links to the World provides a list of web sites and reports related to economics and public finance.

Subscription Data Sources

IMF eLibrary (International Financial Statistics) This link opens in a new window
IFS contains country data for most Fund members and can include a country's exchange rates, fund position, international liquidity, monetary statistics, interest rates, prices, production, labor, international transactions, government accounts, national accounts, and population.
If individual users wish to save searches, results, download data or set alerts, they will need to set up a "personal" account. Any user can do this on their own by clicking the 'Register' option on the data site and by following the instructions.
Passport This link opens in a new window
Provides macroeconomic statistics, market size data & lifestyle trends on a global basis, as well as one million statistics for 205 countries, volume & value market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, and 205 Euromonitor country profiles.
ICPSR - Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
Comprises a “vast archive of social science data.”
All users will need to create a login for this database. Please contact Scott Granberg-Rademacker (jeffrey.granberg-rademacker@mnsu.edu or 507-389-6939) for ICPSR assistance.
NBER Working Papers This link opens in a new window
Collection of National Bureau of Economic Research working papers made available to other economists in preliminary form to encourage discussion and suggestions for revision before final publication.