Library Class and Subject Guides: Public Administration: Country Information

Reference Books at Memorial Library

The Europa World Year Book
Call Number: Reference JN1 .E85
ISBN: 1857436792
The Europa World Year Book provides detailed country surveys containing the analytical, statistical and directory information for over 250 countries and territories.
Political Handbook of the World 2014 by Tom Lansford
Call Number: Reference JF37 .P6
ISBN: 1483333280
Publication Date: 2014-04-08
Featuring more than 200 entries on countries and territories throughout the world, this volume provides coverage of all major and minor political parties and groups in each political system. It also provides names of key ambassadors and international memberships of each country, plus detailed profiles of more than 30 intergovernmental organizations and UN agencies.
The Statesman's Yearbook 2013 by Barry Turner (Editor)
Call Number: Reference JA51 .S7
ISBN: 0230360092
Publication Date: 2012-09-04
The Statesman's Yearbook provides information on every country in the world, covering political, economic, social and cultural aspects.
The Oxford Companion to Comparative Politics by Joel Krieger (Editor-In-Chief); Margaret E. Crahan; Craig N. Murphy (Editor)
ISBN: 0199738599
Publication Date: 2012-10-10
"Approximately 200 revised and updated articles from the Oxford Companion to Politics of the World would serve as a foundation for the set, while over 100 new entries would thoroughly examine the field in a lasting, more theoretical than current-event-based, way."
Political Parties and Democracy by Kay Lawson (Editor)
Call Number: JF2051 .P5678 2010
ISBN: 027598706X
Publication Date: 2010-02-01
In each volume, contributors explore the relationship between political parties and democracy (or democratization) in their nations, providing necessary historical, socioeconomic, and institutional context, as well as the details of contemporary political tensions. They show the parties of their respective nations as they have developed through history and changing institutional structures, and they explain the balance of power among them--and between them and competing agencies of power--today.

Online Country Information

IMF eLibrary (International Financial Statistics) This link opens in a new window
IFS contains country data for most Fund members and can include a country's exchange rates, fund position, international liquidity, monetary statistics, interest rates, prices, production, labor, international transactions, government accounts, national accounts, and population.
If individual users wish to save searches, results, download data or set alerts, they will need to set up a "personal" account. Any user can do this on their own by clicking the 'Register' option on the data site and by following the instructions.

World Bank Countries and Regions page
Their work is focused on economic development. The amount of information varies by country, but often include data, reports, news and brief country overviews.
BBC Country Profiles
"Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions."
CIA World Factbook
"The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities."

Passport This link opens in a new window
Provides macroeconomic statistics, market size data & lifestyle trends on a global basis, as well as one million statistics for 205 countries, volume & value market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, and 205 Euromonitor country profiles.