Drawing focus to a topic by identifying it's elements and the relationships existing between each element is an effective means of framing your topic. Framing your topic also ensures it is not too broad or too narrow. If the topic is too broad you may find too much information. If your topic is too narrow, you likely will not be able to find enough information. Therefore, it is important to gather background information on the topic before developing a good research topic.
Research Tip: To obtain background information on your research topic, consult encyclopedias, handbooks, or guides.
When compiling background information it is helpful to:
Application Exercise: After consulting two to three encyclopedias or handbooks, or guides, write a half page to full page introduction to the topic. Retain a copy of the completed exercise for yourself and download a second copy to D2L by [date].
Kent State Libraries. (2013 August 20). How to develop a good research topic [Video]. Youtube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nXNztCLYgxc
This link opens in a new windowProvides trusted information with balanced, global perspectives and insights that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries.
This link opens in a new windowElectronic reference books on a variety of subjects.
Oxford Handbooks Online brings together the world's leading scholars to write review essays that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate.
In-depth, specialized titles from Oxford University Press's encyclopedias, companions, and partner publisher's scholarly works with a special emphasis in art & architecture, regional & national history, language reference, and regional & area studies.
Routledge Handbooks Online brings together the world’s leading scholars to provide a cutting-edge overview of classic and current research and future trends in the Social Sciences and Humanities while providing an authoritative guide to theory & method, the key sub-disciplines, and the primary debates of today.
Contains electronic reference titles from Sage. Users can search and browse the full-text equivalent handbooks, encyclopedias, and other titles.
This link opens in a new windowScience Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides access to such topics as biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology, and wildlife.
| Librarians online 24/7: |
| In Person | |
| Text: 1-507-203-1697 | |
| Appointment | |
| Phone: 1-507-389-5958 | |
| Search our FAQs |
