Library Class and Subject Guides: Conducting Research for a Paper: Research Assignment

Starting Your Research Paper

Be sure you understand the assignment. What is the purpose of the assignment? Is it to

Research Tip 1: The purpose of the assignment should be used to guide your writing.

Research Tip 2: If you need help choosing a topic, browse various resources available from the library.

QUESTIONS ABOUT YOUR ASSIGNMENT? Contact [your instructor--name]

[Add link to research assignment and rubric]

Congressional Research Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive full text collection of primary source U.S. congressional committee prints and Congressional Research Service reports covering all aspects of U.S. politics and culture, including economics, business, science and technology, international relations, social issues, finance, insurance, and medicine.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides full text reports that comprise "in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each report is investigated and written by a seasoned journalist...sections include a background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Opposing Viewpoints in Context view points
This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints covers today’s hottest social issues. This online resource helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.

Minnesota Issues
Lists sites and information to hot topics in the state. Created by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library.
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts.

Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Points of View Reference Center is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides 250 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point(argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide.
The database also offers guides to debate, developing arguments, and writing position papers. *This resource is provided by the Electronic Library of Minnesota, freely accessible to anyone in Minnesota!*

Room for Debate from the New York Times
Experts and professionals discuss current events and hot topics.
Scroll to the lower right corner to browse by topic