Ask a Librarian
Find Scholarly Articles
Scholarly, academic, peer reviewed articles are an important part of academic writing. When you talk with friends about a topic of shared interest, their ideas can help you think of new and different ways of looking at or doing something. The same thing happens in scholarly, academic research.
You can read existing academic articles and use these articles to
- Form a new research question.
- Develop a research method.
- Identify ways you can communicate your findings and connect your findings to other research.
The exchange of ideas through articles over time is often referred to as a scholarly conversation.
Databases to Consult
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to articles, as well as full text of articles from over 4,600 publications, covering almost every academic subject.
-
America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowProvides citations & abstracts to journal articles about the United States and Canadian history.
-
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art to various areas of architecture and architectural design and includes full text for over 600 journals and 230 books.
-
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
A definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film.
-
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad spectrum of the arts & entertainment industry including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more through abstracts, indexing, and selective full-text.
-
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and selected full text to articles, company reports, industry reports, market research reports, and country reports about all aspects of business, “including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics, and economics.”
-
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Provides the largest and most complete collection of full text journals in education research and is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers.
-
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The Educational Resources Information Center database provides extensive access to educational-related literature and information in a variety of formats.
-
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
-
Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to articles and other materials covering all areas of biological sciences, including biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
-
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers information covering the human impact to the environment with a collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles.
-
Medline This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to articles covering all medical topics, including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services.
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of disciplines such as agriculture, biology & genetics, arts & humanities, biochemistry, business, chemical engineering, chemistry, computer science, earth & planetary sciences, economics, environmental science, mathematics, medicine & dentistry, physics & astronomy, social sciences, and veterinary science & medicine.
-
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Featuring more than 400 full text titles, SPORTDiscus™ with Full Text is the most comprehensive, bibliographic and full-text database covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, coaching, training, physical therapy, nutrition, and more.
-
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to articles and books about psychology and "disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work."
-
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts "covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education."
-
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to articles about sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
Minnesota State University, Mankato. (4 December 2019). Using Google Scholar [Video]. Youtube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DbWQkTWRuAI