Library Class and Subject Guides: World Languages & Cultures: Access Recommended Reference Resources

Online Resources

LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to articles about "all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Routledge Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Routledge Handbooks Online brings together the world’s leading scholars to provide a cutting-edge overview of classic and current research and future trends in the Social Sciences and Humanities, while providing an authoritative guide to theory and method, the key sub-disciplines, and the primary debates of today.

Choose from these subject areas:
The default search and subject area links will search all of the content on the Routledge Handbooks Online platform, not just what we pay for. If you are asked for a log-in, this means we have not paid for access to that particular ebook or article. If you would like to limit your search to ONLY our subscribed content, visit the main search page on the RHO platform and be sure the box for “Full Access Only” is checked on the left-hand side of the page.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Contains electronic reference titles from Sage. Users can search and browse the full-text equivalent handbooks, encyclopedias, and other titles.
World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean This link opens in a new window
Includes primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video; and more.

Browsing the Stacks

Call numbers for World Languages-related materials in Memorial Library—including items the general, reference, DVD & periodical collections—are organized using the following outline.

P – Language and Literature

P-PH – Philology & Linguistics (arranged by language)

PJ – Oriental philology and literature

PJ6001-8517 Arabic

PK – Indo-Iranian philology and literature

PK1931-2212 Hindi, Urdu, Hindustani languages and literatures

PL – Languages of East Asia, Africa, Oceania

PL501-889 Japanese language and literature

PL901-998 Korean language and literature

PL1001-3208 Chinese language and literature

PL8000-8844 African languages and literature

PM – Hyperborean, Indian and artificial languages

PM101-2711 American languages (Aboriginal)

PM3001-4566 Languages of Mexico and Central America

PM5001-7356 Languages of South America and the West Indies

PN – General Literature

Poetry, plays, short story anthologies, etc.

PQ – Romance Literature

PQ1-3999 French literature

PQ6001-8929 Spanish literature

PR – English Literature

PS – American Literature

PT – German Literature

PT7001-7099 Scandinavian literature

PT7101-7338 Old Norse literature: Old Icelandic and Old Norwegian

PT7351-7550 Modern Icelandic literature

PT8301-9155 Norwegian literature

PT9201-9999 Swedish literature