Library Class and Subject Guides: Film Studies: Find Books

Recommended Books

The Wiley-Blackwell History of American Film
Call Number: 1st floor Reference collection
Comprising over 90 essays and richly illustrated with over 200 images, provides a chronological portrait of American film history from its origins to the present day. Taken as a whole, the essays in this collection represent a comprehensive and nuanced overview of American film history from the intersecting perspectives of industry, audiences, aesthetics, culture, politics, issues, and ideology.
Film : the essential study guide by edited by Ruth Doughty and Deborah Shaw
Call Number: PN1994 .F439145 2009
2nd floor
The film theory reader : debates and arguments by edited by Marc Furstenau
Call Number: PN1995 .F4675 2010
2nd floor
History of the American cinema
Call Number: book series
Encyclopedia of the documentary film by Ian Aitken, editor
Call Number: PN1995.9.D6 E53 2006
REFERENCE - 1st floor
LIBRARY USE ONLY

Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Electronic reference books on a variety of subjects.

Historical dictionary of film noir by Andrew Spicer
Call Number: PN1995.9.F54 S685 2010eb
electronic book

Find Books, Videos, Music & More at Minnesota State Mankato Libraries

Use the customized MavScholar search box below to find print books and ebooks. Visit our Books guide for detailed instructions.

Find books & ebooks with MavScholar

Browsing the Collection

You can browse the library's collection of books and documentaries about film studies by going to the call number range PN1993-PN1999.

Get Books Worldwide

Search WorldCat to find and request books from other libraries using our Interlibrary Loan service. See our Get Books from Other Libraries guide for detailed instructions.

WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to books and other materials (including those that are out of print) held by libraries worldwide and allows users to request books via Interlibrary Loan.