Skip to Main Content

Classic Books: Plays & Poetry

A suggested reading guide to immerse oneself in the classics

Classic Plays

Medea

by Euripides

First Published: 431 B. C. E.

Sophocles, the Oedipus Cycle

by Sophocles

First Published: ca 429 B. C. E.

Electra

Call Number: PA4414.E5 M26 1998 (General Collection)

ISBN: 0195049608

First Published: 420 B. C. E.
See reviews | Goodreads.com

As You Like It

Call Number: PR2803.A2 H35 2009 (General Collection)

ISBN: 9780521732505

First Published: 1599
See reviews | Goodreads.com

Hamlet

Call Number: PR2807.A2 G55 2007 (General Collection)

ISBN: 0198321074

First Published: 1602
See reviews | Goodreads.com

Tartuffe and Other Plays

Call Number: PQ1825.E5 F68 2007 (General Collection)

ISBN: 0451530330

First Published: 1664
See reviews | Goodreads.com

A Doll's House

by Henrik Ibsen

First Published: 1879

Wedekind Plays 1

Call Number: PT2647.E26 P55 1993 (General Collection)

ISBN: 0413675408

First Published: 1891
See reviews | Goodreads.com

The Importance of Being Earnest

by Oscar Wilde

First Published: 1895

The Cherry Orchard

by Anton Chekhov

First Published: 1904

Our Town

Call Number: PS3545.I345 O9 1998 (General Collection)

ISBN: 0060929847

First Published: 1938
See reviews | Goodreads.com

The Glass Menagerie (in Six great modern plays)

by Tennessee Williams

First Published: 1944

No Exit and Three Other Plays

by Jean-Paul Sartre

First Published: 1944

Death of a Salesman

by Arthur Miller

First Published: 1949

The Crucible

by Arthur Miller

First Published: 1953

Waiting for Godot

by Samuel Beckett

First Published: 1953

Twelve Angry Men

by Reginald Rose

First Published: 1954

A Raisin in the Sun

by Lorraine Hansberry

First Published: 1959

Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead

by Tom Stoppard

First Published: 1967

For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide/When the Rainbow Is Enuf

by Ntozake Shange

Classic Poetry

Iliad and Odyssey

Call Number: PA4025 .I45 1952 (General Collection)

ISBN: 1607102129

First Published: ca 700 B. C. E.
See reviews | Goodreads.com

The Aeneid

Call Number: PA6807.A5 R83 2008 (General Collection)

ISBN: 0300119046

First Published: 19 B. C. E.
See reviews | Goodreads.com

American Indian Stories, Legends, and Other Writings

A groundbreaking collection of stories, essays, poems, and speeches by a Sioux [Yankton Dakota] writer, teacher, and activist includes legends and tales from oral tradition, childhood stories, and allegorical fiction.

The Divine Comedy

Call Number: PQ4315 .B4 1969 v.1 to v. 3 (General Collection--Oversize--2nd Floor)

ISBN: 0679433139

First Published: 1318
See reviews | Goodreads.com

The Canterbury Tales

Call Number: PR1867 .K65 2005 (General Collection)

ISBN: 0393925870

First Published: 1390
See reviews | Goodreads.com

Paradise Lost

Call Number: PR3560 1935x (General Collection)

ISBN: 1593080956

First Published: 1667
See reviews | Goodreads.com

The Complete Poetical Works

Call Number: PR4351 .M27 v.1 to v.7 (General Collection)

ISBN: 0198118902

First Published: ca 1810s
See reviews | Goodreads.com

The Raven

Call Number: PS2609 .A1 2006 (General Collection)

ISBN: 1553374738

First Published: 1845
See reviews | Goodreads.com

Leaves of Grass

Call Number: PS3201 1959 (General Collection)

ISBN: 1402770669

First Published: 1855
See reviews | Goodreads.com

Complete poems, 1904-1962

Call Number: PS3505.U334 A17 1991 (General Collection)

ISBN: 0871401452

First Published: ca 1904
See reviews | Goodreads.com

The Waste Land

Call Number: PS3509.L43 W3 2001 (General Collection)

ISBN: 0393974995

First Published: 1922
See reviews | Goodreads.com

The Complete Poems of Emily Dickinson

Call Number: PS1541 .A1 1960 (General Collection)

ISBN: 0316184144

First Published: 1924
See reviews | Goodreads.com

Frost

Call Number: PS3511.R94 A6 1995 (General Collection)

ISBN: 188301106X

First Published: ca 1949
See reviews | Goodreads.com

Howl, and Other Poems

Call Number: PS3513.I74 H6 1959 (General Collection)

ISBN: 0872863107

First Published: 1956
See reviews | Goodreads.com

Ariel

Call Number: PS3566.L27 A7 1999 (General Collection)

ISBN: 0060931728

First Published: 1965
See reviews | Goodreads.com

Marie de France Poetry

Marie de France was a medieval poet who was probably born in France and who lived in England during the twelfth century. Prominent among the earliest poets writing in the French vernacular, she helped shape the style and genres of later medieval poetry. Each text included here is accompanied by detailed explanatory annotations.

Works into Film

Medea (Streaming)

Access this streaming video.

Hamlet (DVD)

A Doll's House (DVD)

Tartuffe (Streaming)

Access this streaming video.

The Glass Menagerie (DVD)

Death of a Salesman (Streaming)

The Crucible (DVD)

Ask a Librarian

Jessica Schomberg

Email Me

Contact:

Memorial Library

507-389-2155

Subjects: Aviation, Counseling & Student Personnel, Education, English, Military Science

Explore a database

Twentieth Century North American Drama

Contains thousands of plays written by hundreds of playwrights with detailed information on related performances, theaters & production companies, as well as selected playbills, production photographs, and other ephemera related to the plays.