1. Use the MSU Library Catalog (see below) to search for the book
2. Find a title
|
If it is a Print Book 3. Note the collection & call number |
If it is an Ebook 3. If the item is available electronically, click the link next to Online Access |
|
|
| 4. In the library, locate the collection on a map and use the call number to find the item on the shelf. |
|
In the library, go to the floor that houses your specific collection.
Use the table below to help you. Use the links to view the library map.
Collection |
Location |
|
Collection |
Location |
| Audiobooks | lower level--east | Government Documents | 1st floor |
|
|
Bestsellers |
1st floor | Juvenile Fiction, Nonfiction | lower level--east | |
|
DVD |
lower level--east | Lass Center for Minnesota Studies | 2nd floor, center | |
| General Collection | lower level--east | Maps & Atlas | 1st floor, right | |
| call no. starting with A-E | 2nd floor, left | New Books | 1st floor | |
| call no. starting with F-PN | 2nd floor, right | Periodicals | 1st floor, right | |
| call no. starting with Q-Z | 3rd floor | Reference | 1st floor, left | |
|
General Collection--Oversize |
2nd floor, right |
Once you find the correct collection, use the call number to locate the book on the shelf.
Read call numbers line by line.
LB
Read the first line in alphabetical order:
A, B, BF, C, D... L, LA, LB, LC, M, ML...
2395
Read the second line as a whole number:
1, 2, 3, 45, 100, 101, 1000, 2000, 2430...
.C65
The third line is a combination of a letter and numbers. Read the letter alphabetically. Read the number as a decimal, eg:
.C65 = .65 .C724 = .724
Some call numbers have more than one combination letter-number line.
1991
The last line is the year the book was published. Some older items do not include the year. Read in chronological order:
1985, 1991, 1992...
Here is a shelf of books with the call number order explained.
Content for this box provided by the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia. The original content can be found through the Online Library Learning Center.
Once you find your book, your MavCard is your library card! Take the books and your MavCard to the circulation desk by the entrance.
The following table lists how long you can check out items.
| Library Item | Loan Period | Can it be renewed? |
|---|---|---|
| Books (General Collection) | end of the semester (current students) | Yes (use My Library Account to renew) |
| Audiobooks | end of the semester (current students) | Yes |
| Digital Cameras | 7 days | No |
| DVDs | 14 days | No |
| Laptop Computers | 7 days | No |
