Library Class and Subject Guides: State and Local Government: Articles

Databases

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to articles about all aspects of political science, including comparative politics, developing nations, disarmament, economic policy, electoral systems, environmental policy, history & theory of political science, International relations/trade, labor relations, military policy, methodology & research technology, public administration, security & defense, and welfare systems.
EBSCO MegaFILE
mega file
This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches multiple EBSCO article databases, including Academic Search Premiere and Business Source Premiere. Covers a wide range of topics. About 50% of articles are “full text”…if you don’t see the full text link…click the link “Click Here for Other Article Options” to find out if we subscribe to the journal you are looking for.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Using this link will connects Google Scholar to our journal subscriptions and Interlibrary Loan service. If you have identified a good article here or elsewhere, use this to see who has cited that research.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
One publisher’s search engine, but has a number of journals covering public administration and American government. All articles here are “full text”! Also includes the journal State and Local Government Review.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database is not good for current journal articles but includes the full text of older issues of important American political science journals.
Nexis Uni
LexisNexis Academic Universe lexis nexis uni
This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full text newspapers and state level legislative and judicial documents.
US Newsstream
news stream
This link opens in a new window
Local newspapers are often the best place to follow issues of state government. Use this as an alternative to going to directly to newspaper web sites like the Minneapolis Star Tribune or Wisconsin State Journal. Unfortunately not all newspapers that will be relevant to your research will be represented here.

Individual State Government Journals

State Politics & Policy Quarterly
peer-reviewed and published quarterly, is the premier publication outlet for original research on state politics and policy.
State and Local Government Review
peer-reviewed and published quarterly, provides a forum for the exchange of ideas among practitioners and academics that contributes to the knowledge and practice of state and local government politics, policy, and management.
Local Government Studies
A journal for the study of local politics, policy, public administration and management and governance.

Other Subject Databases

Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and selected full text to articles about all aspects of criminal justice, "including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law."
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Educational Resources Information Center database provides extensive access to educational-related literature and information in a variety of formats. *This resource is provided by the Electronic Library of Minnesota, freely accessible to anyone in Minnesota!*
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to nursing and allied health journals, as well as citations and abstracts to articles. Includes a broad range of nursing specializations.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to articles and proceedings about social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts "covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education."

Ask a Librarian

Librarians online 24/7:

	In Person
	E-mail
	Text: 1-507-203-1697
	Appointment
	Phone: 1-507-389-5958
	Search our FAQs

State and Local Government: Articles

Find Sources Using MavScholar

Find articles, books, videos & more

Databases

Individual State Government Journals

Other Subject Databases

Ask a Librarian