Library Class and Subject Guides: State and Local Government: Reference Books

Reference Books

Guide to State Politics and Policy by Richard G. Niemi (Editor); Joshua J. Dyck
ISBN: 9781452219967
Publication Date: 2013-11-01
This book provides excellent overviews of the various topics impacting state governments and the processes by which they operate.
The Oxford Handbook of State and Local Government by Donald P. Haider-Markel (Editor)
Publication Date: 2016-06-03
This handbook has 39 chapters covering a wide range of topics related to state and local government. Each chapter focuses on one area and describes the research that has been conducted on that topic. Excellent headings in many chapters help to break larger topics into their narrower subcategories. Because the book is focused on describing the research that has been conducted, each chapter's bibliography is a gold mine of excellent sources to use for your research.
The Oxford Handbook of Urban Politics by Karen Mossberger (Editor); Susan E. Clarke (Editor); Peter John (Editor)
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2012-04-05
The Book of the States (Full Text)
Call Number: JK2403 .B6
Current year now available online! Click title for access. Published by the Council of State Governments each year. This book provides a series of articles and comparative data about state government. It focuses heavily on government functions rather than on specific policy. Anyone focusing on how governments operate will want to look at this book. Also government finance is well covered here.
Political Encyclopedia of U.S. States and Regions
Call Number: JK2408 .P623 2009
This set of books provides political history, culture and details of important issues surrounding state government and politics for each state. The second half of the second volume is a general encyclopedia that has articles on major issues in politics and government and relates these to state and local government.
The Oxford Handbook of State and Local Government Finance by Robert D. Ebel (Editor); John E. Petersen (Editor)
Publication Date: 2012-03-21
For anyone studying state or local government finance, this is a great resource. Early chapters provides overviews of major issues and like other Oxford Handbooks, chapters have excellent bibliographies which can link you to important research in this area.
The Almanac of American Politics
Call Number: JK271 .B343x
This book will not tell you much about state government but it can tell you about a state’s political culture. While much of the book provides biographical information on national politicians, the overviews of the states and biographies of Governors are excellent reading. For the most recent edition check at the Reference Desk.
The Oxford Handbook of Urban Planning by Randall Crane (Editor); Rachel Weber (Editor)
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2012-04-23
The Oxford Handbook of American Political Parties and Interest Groups by L. Sandy Maisel (Editor); Jeffrey M. Berry (Editor); George C. Edwards (General Editor)
Publication Date: 2010-04-05
This handbook includes chapters focused political parties and interest groups and the state and local level.
Encyclopedia of U. S. Campaigns, Elections, and Electoral Behavior by Kenneth F. Warren (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2008-04-04
The book explores topics related to American political campaigns, elections, and electoral behavior. It includes chapters on all 50 states.
The Oxford Handbook of Southern Politics by Mark J. Rozell (Editor); Charles S. Bullock III (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780195381948
Publication Date: 2012-02-17
The Oxford Handbook of New York State Government and Politics by Gerald Benjamin
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2012-09-03

Book Chapters

Bureaucracy and Democracy in Local Government
Chapter in The Oxford Handbook of Urban Politics
The Context of Local Policymaking: Who or What Governs?
Chapter in The Oxford Handbook of State and Local Government
Environmental Federalism and the Role of State and Local Governments
Chapter from The Oxford Handbook of U.S. Environmental Policy.
Local Bureaucracy
Chapter in The Oxford Handbook of State and Local Government
Local Government Networks.
Chapter in The Oxford Handbook of Political Networks.
Local Political Participation
Chapter in The Oxford Handbook of State and Local Government
A Place to Party?: Parties and Nonpartisanship in Local Government
Chapter in The Oxford Handbook of Urban Politics
Relations between State and Local Governments: The Home Court (Dis)Advantage
Chapter in The Oxford Handbook of State and Local Government

Online Databases

Congressional Research Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive full text collection of primary source U.S. congressional committee prints and Congressional Research Service reports covering all aspects of U.S. politics and culture, including economics, business, science and technology, international relations, social issues, finance, insurance, and medicine.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks Online brings together the world's leading scholars to write review essays that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate.

MSU Librarian

Evan Rusch

Email Me

Contact:

(507) 389-2460

Memorial Library

Subjects: Economics, Geography & Earth Science, Political Science, Urban & Regional Studies

Ask a Librarian

Librarians online 24/7:

	In Person
	E-mail
	Text: 1-507-203-1697
	Appointment
	Phone: 1-507-389-5958
	Search our FAQs