Physics and Astronomy: Websites

"arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology."

Provides citations, abstracts, and selected full text to journal articles, "colloquia, symposia, proceedings, and internal NASA reports. These sources cover diverse loosely astronomy-related subjects, ranging from Electrical Engineering through Optics to Particle Physics. They include larger American astronomical journals, many Non-American journals.and general interest journals such as Science, New Scientist, Nature, Mercury, Sky and Telescope. Coverage may be incomplete.

NED "is built around a master list of extragalactic objects for which cross-identifications of names have been established, accurate positions and redshifts entered to the extent possible, and some basic data collected. Bibliographic references relevant to individual objects have been compiled, and abstracts of extragalactic interest are kept on line. Detailed and referenced photometry, position, and redshift data, have been taken from large compilations and from the literature.

Comprises selected resources from "17 U.S. government science organizations within 12 Federal agencies. These agencies form the voluntary Science.gov Alliance. Visitors to the site can search across Alliance agency resources via one query...Two major types of information are included — selected authoritative science Web sites and often hard-to-access scientific databases."

Provides links to High-Energy Physics as well as a pre-print server.