It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search and browse American newspapers that chronicle the evolution of American culture and daily life from 1690 to 1922. Provides access to: Series 1 - From Colonies to Nation, 1690-1876; Series 2 - The New Republic, 1758-1900; Series 3 - From Farm to City, 1783-1922; and Series 13 - The American West, 1803-1916.
The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2012, delivers every page as published from 220 years of The Times (London) to your library. The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. Users may search the full-text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, and advertising.
"Sanborn maps are large-scale plans of a city or town, drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. They were created to assist fire insurance companies as they assessed the risk associated with insuring a particular property. The maps list street blocks and building numbers including numbers in use at the time the map was made and previous numbers."
This search's archives collections from around the United States. Access to these collections is usually only available at the holding repository.
ArchiveGrid is an important destination for searching through historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world. Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies.
Books at other Library's
This database searches library catalogs from around the world. Great place to look for published genealogies, archival collections, and more.
Provides citations to books and other materials (including those that are out of print) held by libraries worldwide.Use this database to request books via Interlibrary Loan. *This resource is provided by the Electronic Library of Minnesota, freely accessible to anyone in Minnesota!*