Library Class and Subject Guides: !LibGuides toolbox: citing sources

Manage Citations with Mendeley or Zotero

Citation managers are applications that collect, manage, and cite research sources. MSU Mankato's librarians recommend Mendeley or Zotero.

Mendeley or Zotero can help you:

Create bibliographies and in text citations for assignments and research projects. Available writing styles include APA, MLA, Chicago, and many more.
Organize citations to create a personalized literature database.
Export citations for library databases and freely available websites.
Save and annotate PDFs.

Mendeley Citation Management Application by UO Libraries
Mendeley is a free desktop and cloud application that helps you manage your research.
Zotero Citation Management Application by GSU Libraries
Zotero is free desktop application that helps you save, manage, and cite research sources.
Compare Mendeley & Zotero

General Citation Websites

QuickCite
Use the dropdown menus to generate example citations for your resources.
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) offers support to writers through online reference materials, including guides to popular citation formats: the APA Style, MLA Style, and Chicago Manual of Style.

MLA Handbook in Memorial Library

MLA Handbook, 9th Edition by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: LB2369 .M52 2021
ISBN: 9781603293518
Copies are located in the Reference and General Collections.

MLA Links

The following websites provide information for the MLA 9th Edition writing style.

Formatting Your Research Project | MLA Style Center
In-Text Citations: An Overview | MLA Style Center
Works Cited: Example Entries | MLA Style Center
The MLA Style Center
MLA Style Guide from Purdue OWL
Creating MLA In Text Citations
QuickCite
Use the dropdown menus to generate example citations for your resources.
MLA (and other) Annotated Bibliographies

APA Publication Manuals in Memorial Library

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th edition
Call Number: BF76.7 P.83 2020
Copies are located in the Reference and Ready Reference Collections, as well as at the Circulation Desk.
Concise Guide to APA Style 7th Edition: the Official APA Style Guide for Students.
Call Number: BF76.7 .C66 2020
Copies are located in the Reference and General Collections

APA Links

The following websites provide information for the American Psychological Association, 7th Edition writing style.

APA References | American Psychological Association
APA In-Text Citations | American Psychological Association
APA Paper Format | American Psychological Association
QuickCite
Use the dropdown menus to generate example citations for your resources.

Chicago Manual of Style Links

The following websites provide information for the Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition writing style.

Chicago Manual of Style
The Chicago Manual of Style is the authoritative, trusted source that writers, editors, and publishers turn to for guidance on style and process. Offers both 17th and 16th Edition information.
The Chicago Manual of Style Online: Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide
Includes a comparison between notes and bibliography, and author-date styles
QuickCite
Use the dropdown menus to generate example citations for your resources.

Chicago/Turabian Guides in Memorial Library & Online

The Chicago Manual of Style
Call Number: Z253 .U69 2017
The most up-to-date guide for Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition

Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition This link opens in a new window
The Chicago Manual of Style Online is the venerable, time-tested guide to style, usage, and grammar in an accessible online format.

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers
Call Number: LB2369 .T8 2018
The ninth edition is fully aligned with the Chicago Manual of Style 17th edition

Turabian Citation Guide Links

Turabian Citation Guide
Information for the Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 9th Edition writing style. Commonly called Turabian, this style is modified from the 17th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style to help student writers.
Turabian Resources for Students
Tips and FAQs from the Chicago Manual of Style

APA Writing Style

APA style is a commonly used writing style for formatting papers in many disciplines. Using a standardized format provides both the reader and writer with a common understanding of the layout of a paper and how to find cited sources.

It is helpful for students to consider APA style in 3 parts:

Formatting: the layout of a paper
In-text Citations: briefly citing sources in paragraphs
Reference List: full citation information at the end of a paper

APA Style: Formatting (7th Edition)

Use these links to help design your paper according to APA style:

APA Paper Format | American Psychological Association
APA Formatted Microsoft Word Example
Download this example paper and use it as a template to format your student paper
APA Formatted Google Doc Example
"Make a copy" of this example student paper and use it as a template to format your work
APA 7th Ed.: Formatting Tutorial
Interactive DIY Tutorial: A short tutorial with questions on how to format in APA style

APA Style: In-Text Citations (7th Edition)

Use these links to help you cite sources in the body of your paper:

APA In-Text Citations | American Psychological Association
QuickCite
Use the dropdown menus to generate example citations for your resources.
APA 7th Ed: In-Text Citation Tutorial
Interactive DIY Tutorial: A tutorial with questions and directions on how to create in-text citations in APA style!
How to Cite ChatGPT | APA Style Blog

APA Style: Reference List (7th Edition)

Use these links to help you create a Reference page to list citations to sources used in your paper:

APA References | American Psychological Association
QuickCite
Use the dropdown menus to generate example citations for your resources.
APA 7th Ed: Reference List Tutorial
Interactive DIY Tutorial: A tutorial with questions and directions on how to create a reference list in APA style!
How to Cite ChatGPT | APA Style Blog

Need Writing Help?

Check out the links below for some resources to help you with your writing!

Writing Center in the Center for Academic Success
If you are struggling with writing, contact or visit the Writing Center in the CAS!
Brief Guides to Writing in the Disciplines | Harvard College Writing Center
Visit the Harvard College Writing Center's collection of resources to help you write in the appropriate style for your major.