Library Class and Subject Guides: MBA 695 (Spring 2024): Company Information & Analyses

Directories

To obtain information about a company, one place to start is to consult a directory.

Akama
An open business directory identifying U.S. local businesses and products from all over the country.
AllPages
Business 'yellow pages'
MacRAE's Blue Book
A directory listing of supply, distribution, and manufacturing companies.
ThomasNet
Directory of U.S. and Canadian manufacturers.
Trade Shows News Network
News and online resource for the trade show, exhibition, and event industry.
Yellow Pages
Find business contact information.

Company Analyses

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and selected full text to articles, company reports, industry reports, market research reports, and country reports about all aspects of business, “including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics, and economics.”

When conducting an analysis of a company, it is helpful to consult annual reports as well as filings with the SEC for publically owned companies. Some databases also provide access to analysts resports.

Capital IQ
Provides research, data, and analysis on private and public companies.
Capital IQ Account/Registration
Before you can access Capital IQ, you are required to complete a registration process. This registration process will not need to be completed again until your account expires. You will be informed of when your account expires in a welcome email. Please note, it is important to save the welcome email in the event there is a problem with your account.
Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval (EDGAR)
A compilation of submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file information with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).
ProQuest One Business
Locate and click on the tab "Company Reports" or the link to browse all "Company Overviews."