Library Class and Subject Guides: Online Reference Collection: Resources A-Z

Resources A-Z

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Engineering reference materials integrated with analytical teaching and learning tools.
AccessScience This link opens in a new window
Reference material covering all major scientific disciplines.

ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication
The ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication provides students, researchers, educators, and librarians with the instruction and advice they need to master the art of scholarly communication. The new Guide covers all instructions from previous editions of The ACS Style Guide - completely updated and modernized - as well as a wealth of brand new chapters covering everything from preprints, Open Access, machine-readable data, and much more.

AP Stylebook This link opens in a new window
The AP Stylebook is a basic reference to grammar, punctuation and principles of reporting, including many definitions and rules for usage as well as styles for capitalization, abbreviation, spelling and numerals. Includes Webster's New World College Dictionary.
ASM Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
American Society for Metals Handbooks contains a comprehensive source of information on ferrous and non-ferrous metals and materials technology with articles, illustrations, tables, graphs, specifications, and practical examples.
ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library (SEDL) includes all 13,000 ASTM standards, as well as Manuals, Monographs, Data Series, STPs (Special Technical Publications) and 8 Journals.
Britannica Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Britannica Online Academic has been thoroughly updated with new content that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries. New content includes World Data Analyst, Gateway to the Classics, and a collection of Notable Quotations as well as new functionality including advanced search capabilities and the Britannica Workspace, a research organizer. *This resource is provided by the Electronic Library of Minnesota, freely accessible to anyone in Minnesota!*
Britannica Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains 4 full encyclopedias, the Encyclopædia Britannica, Compton’s by Britannica, Britannica Elementary Encyclopedia, and Britannica Concise Encyclopedia, each covering the research needs of a different age group. Along with encyclopedia content, this edition contains full-text magazine articles, web sites, a homework help section for students, a world atlas, Merriam-Webster dictionaries and thesauri, a Spanish-English dictionary, video and audio content, daily content updates, and more. *This resource is provided by the Electronic Library of Minnesota, freely accessible to anyone in Minnesota!*
Chicago Manual of Style, 18th Edition This link opens in a new window
The Chicago Manual of Style Online is the venerable, time-tested guide to style, usage, and grammar in an accessible online format.
Choice Reviews Online This link opens in a new window
Provides full text reviews of "significant current books and electronic resources of interest to those in higher education. Each year CHOICE publishes more than 6,500 reviews by subject experts."
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides full text reports that comprise "in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each report is investigated and written by a seasoned journalist...sections include a background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
DSM-5 This link opens in a new window
The American Psychiatric Association’s Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) is a classification of mental disorders with associated criteria designed to facilitate more reliable diagnoses of these disorders.
DSM-5-TR This link opens in a new window
This revised manual integrates the original published DSM-5 diagnostic criteria with modifications (mostly for clarity) for over 70 disorders, as well and the addition of a new diagnosis, prolonged grief disorder, and symptom codes for reporting suicidal and nonsuicidal self-injurious behavior.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints covers today’s hottest social issues. This online resource helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Provides full text dictionary definitions from all 20 volumes of the print edition plus the 3-volume Additions Series.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks Online brings together the world's leading scholars to write review essays that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Provides full text articles from The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. Covers all aspects of music and musicians and includes illustrations, sounds, and links to Internet sites.
Only one user at a time is allowed to use this resource. If it asks for a username and password, the user limit has been met and you must wait until the previous user ends their session.
Only one user at a time is allowed to use this resource. If asked for a username and password, the user limit has been met and you must wait until the previous user ends their session.
Oxford Reference Library This link opens in a new window
In-depth, specialized titles from Oxford University Press’s award-winning Encyclopedias and Companions, and a selection of partner publishers’ scholarly works. The library contains over 100 books with a special emphasis in Art & Architecture, Regional and National History, Language reference, and Regional and Area Studies.
Passport This link opens in a new window
Provides macroeconomic statistics, market size data & lifestyle trends on a global basis, as well as one million statistics for 205 countries, volume & value market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, and 205 Euromonitor country profiles.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Points of View Reference Center is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides 250 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point(argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide.
The database also offers guides to debate, developing arguments, and writing position papers. *This resource is provided by the Electronic Library of Minnesota, freely accessible to anyone in Minnesota!*
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
PolicyMap is a data and mapping tool used by government agencies, universities, healthcare institutions and nonprofits to solve place-based problems.
Routledge Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Routledge Handbooks Online brings together the world’s leading scholars to provide a cutting-edge overview of classic and current research and future trends in the Social Sciences and Humanities while providing an authoritative guide to theory & method, the key sub-disciplines, and the primary debates of today.
Choose from these subject areas:
The default search and subject area links will search all of the content on the Routledge Handbooks Online platform. If you would like to limit your search to ONLY our subscribed content, visit the main search page on the RHO platform and be sure the box for “Full Access Only” is checked on the left-hand side of the page.
SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new window
SAE Mobilus is a repository of technical content published by the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) that includes books, technical papers, journal articles, and standards.
Our subscription only includes access to SAE Technical Papers from 1998 to current and the SAE Ground Vehicle Standards/USCAR Reports. The default search goes to the index for ALL content from SAE, not just what we pay for. If you are asked to pay for access or see no option to download an item, this means that we may not have access to it. You can request these materials through interlibrary loan or ask a librarian for additional help.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Contains electronic reference titles from Sage. Users can search and browse the full-text equivalent handbooks, encyclopedias, and other titles.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides access to such topics as biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology, and wildlife.
Scientific Style and Format, 8th Edition This link opens in a new window
The indispensable reference for authors, editors, publishers, students, and translators in all areas of science and related fields has been fully revised by the Council of Science Editors to reflect today’s best practices in scientific publishing.
Something About the Author Online This link opens in a new window
Now in an online format, Something About the Author allows users to explore information on the lives and written works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Coverage: 1790 to present.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Explore topics on education in regards to best practices, curriculum develpment, literacy standards, pedagogical research, instructional media, language arts, science & mathematics, school administration, and more.
Ulrich's Periodical Directory This link opens in a new window
Searchable records about magazines, journals, and newspapers to find information on the publisher, title changes, status, start date of publication, ISSN, subscription price, frequency & language of publication, circulation, abstract & index information, and format types.