English - Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages

In this second, fully revised edition, the 10 volume Encyclopedia of Language and Education offers the newest developments including two new volumes of research and scholarly content essential to the field of language teaching and learning in the age of globalization. In the selection of topics and contributors, the Encyclopedia reflects the depth of disciplinary knowledge, breadth of interdisciplinary perspective, and diversity of sociogeographic experience in the field. Throughout, there is an inclusion of contributions from non-English speaking and non-western parts of the world, providing truly global coverage.

Encompasses the full range of topics in linguistics, including such areas as historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics. Special attention is given to interrelations within these branches of the field and to relations of linguistics with other disciplines. This interdisciplinary focus makes the encyclopedia an invaluable resource not only for linguistics but also for scholars working in the fields of computer science, mathematics, philosophy, the social and behavioral sciences, and literary studies.

The encyclopedia is a comprehensive resource covering the diverse field of applied linguistics. It brings together historic and emerging areas of research within applied linguistics. The resource combines individual entries ranging from 1,500 to 4,000 words, with longer, essay-style contributions giving a detailed overview of key developments and ideas. Covers 31 key areas of the field, including Language teaching and learning, Bilingual education, Language policy and planning, Assessment and evaluation, Corpus linguistics, Discourse and conversation analysis, the Neurobiology of language, Literacy, and technology and language.

The Companion to Language Assessment provides the most complete and up-to-date coverage of the field today. This state of-the-art reference work explores 140 crucial topics covering assessment in a broad range of contexts. Examines the key issues for practitioners and scholars of language teaching and assessment, their impact on language learners, and specific approaches to assessment employed around the world Organized thematically, chapters explore the contexts where assessment occurs, including learners and their abilities; developmental tools and approaches to assessment; case studies of international issues; and quantitative, qualitative, and interdisciplinary approaches to evaluation. Brings together an international team of scholars under the editorship of Antony John Kunnan, one of the leading lights in this field. Available digitally via Wiley Online Library Combines the leading voices and cutting-edge research in a reference work spanning the fields of language teaching and learning, language policy and planning, testing and evaluation, and education.

This fully updated sixth edition of the international bestseller Research Methods in Education covers the whole range of methods currently employed by educational research at all stages. It is divided into five main parts: the context of educational research; planning educational research; styles of educational research; strategies for data collection and researching; and data analysis. The book also contains references to a comprehensive dedicated website of accompanying materials. The sixth edition includes new material on: complexity theory, ethics, sampling and sensitive educational research experimental research, questionnaire design and administration with practical guidance qualitative and quantitative data analysis, with practical examples internet based research. Research Methods in Education is essential reading for the professional researcher and continues to be the standard text for students and lecturers in educational research. To access the dedicated website of accompanying materials, please visit: www.routledge.com/textbooks/9780415368780.

Designed to prepare students for the real world of educational research. It focuses on scientifically-based methods, school accountability, and the professional demands of the twenty-first century, empowering researchers to take an active role in conducting research in their classrooms, districts, and the greater educational community. Helps students, educators, and researchers develop a broad and deep understanding of research methodologies.