Genealogy Resources @ MSU: Genealogy Websites

Links to library resources for all Minnesotans. You may need your public library card to get access.

Search the collections of the Minnesota Historical Society

From the Minnesota Historical Society, use Minnesota People Records Search to exclusively research birth, death, and state census records, as well as Veterans Graves Registration and World War I Gold Star Rolls.

Provides "the stories behind the names, thousands of miniature histories that capture the lost lore of familiar places...Minnesota Place Names is both a book, published in a revised and expanded third edition, and this searchable, expanded web site, which includes the text of the book and a wealth of further links to information about Minnesota places."

An overview of research services and resources available from the Minnesota Historical Society.

Genealogy databases that cover the Iron Range as well as an immigration database for Minnesota.

The State Archives Department identifies, collects, and preserves the historically valuable records of almost 4,000 units of state and local government in Minnesota. These are records generated from the territorial period to the present day. Materials preserved in the State Archives come from the Executive Branch of state government, including the constitutional officers and state departments, boards and commissions; the Legislative Branch, including the Minnesota Legislature and its committees, commissions and officers; and the Judicial Branch, including the Supreme and Appellate courts, 87 district courts, and antecedent probate, municipal and justice of the peace courts. Local government records include material from Minnesota counties, cities, school districts, townships and regional government organizations.

The Minnesota Genealogical Society publishes the Minnesota Genealogist providing research stories and examples.

Images, documents, maps, and more from around Minnesota.

Includes Gustavian Weekly, Yearbooks, and more

The regional research centers are archival repositories around Minnesota.

Official 1940 U.S. Census website

Official 1950 U.S. Census Website

From the National Parks Service, the Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System (CWSS) is a database containing information about the men who served in the Union and Confederate armies during the Civil War.

A compilation of genealogy websites.

Search for your relative's arrival in a database of 65 million passenger records.

A database sponsored by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints.

From the Bureau of Land Management and the General Land Office, this site provides live access to Federal land conveyance records for the Public Land States, including image access to more than five million Federal land title records issued between 1788 and the present. We also have images of survey plats and field notes, land status records, and control document index records.

A great resource for maps of former European Empires, including German, Austro-Hungarian, Russian and the Balkans.

The Atlas des Deutschen Reichs by Ludwig Ravenstein is relatively rare in libraries of the United States. Besides Germany, the maps of this atlas also cover the bordering portions of present-day Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Hungary, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Poland, the Russian Federation, Slovakia, and Switzerland. The atlas helps in tracing the roots of families with origins in any part of the German empire from the late nineteenth century to the early twentieth century.

Military records can often provide valuable information on the veteran, as well as on all members of a family. Military records can provide things like rank, unit, date mustered in or out, basic biographical information, and pension information.

From Ancestry.com, this page has lists of websites, mailing lists, message boards, a family history wiki and blog.

USGenWeb was established in 1996 by a group of genealogists who shared a desire to create online centers for genealogical research. Some of the offerings you're likely to see in these diverse and creative sites include query boards, listings of local sources for records, county and state histories, online genealogy books, research tips, maps, and links to helpful internet resources.

Search over 3,000,000 records including: birth, death and marriage record indexes; newspaper clippings; photographs and other visual materials; and property records from National Register and State Register of Historic Places and the Wisconsin Architecture and History Inventory (AHI).

A research support community for everyone, including genealogists, historians & citizen archivists.