Library Class and Subject Guides: COMM 100: Fundamentals of Communication: Topic Development

Discover a Topic

These databases are a great place to discover topics for your speeches.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Full-text reports on political, social, health, educational, environmental, technology issues and more.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Research and materials on today's hottest issues.
Explora Teens This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles, primary sources, and multimedia about health and science topics.
This resource is provided by the Electronic Library of Minnesota, freely accessible to anyone in Minnesota!
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text database with over 250 topics including overviews, arguments, and counterpoints (opposing arguments).
This resource is provided by the Electronic Library of Minnesota, freely accessible to anyone in Minnesota!
Congressional Research Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of U.S. Congressional committee and service reports for culture, business, sciences, social issues, medicine, and more.

Find Introductory Information

Introductory information can help provide an overview of the subject, help you better understand your topic, and also give you ideas for other terms and resources. Introductory information can be found in in encyclopedias and dictionaries and can help you start the research process.

The library has a number of online encyclopedias, dictionaries, and reference materials. Read the descriptions or ask a librarian to help you find one that will work well for your topic and information needs.

Britannica Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Media, articles, and biographies providing background and contextual information on a large array of topics.
This resource is provided by the Electronic Library of Minnesota, freely accessible to anyone in Minnesota!
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
eBooks on subjects like history, sciences, cinema, fashion, and more.
A version of this resource is provided by the Electronic Library of Minnesota, freely accessible to anyone in Minnesota!
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Full-text reports on political, social, health, educational, environmental, technology issues and more.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Online reference materials, including full-text handbooks, encyclopedias, and more. Try using the "works and sections" filter to limit your search to "chapters/entries" instead of "entire works."
AccessScience This link opens in a new window
Reference material covering all major scientific disciplines.

COMM 100: Fundamentals of Communication

Discover a Topic

Find Introductory Information

Find Resources by Subject