Library Class and Subject Guides: Black History Month: Authors, Books, Films, Websites, and More!: Websites and Podcasts for Black History Month and Beyond!

Black History Websites

Image Source: https://pixabay.com/vectors/african-american-history-month-36432/

African American History Month
A collaboration among the Library of Congress, the National Gallery of Art, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution, and the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, this site offers information on Black History Month events, exhibits and collections, audio and visual resources, and information for teachers.
Black History Month
This website offers information on the origins of Black History Month, the theme for this year's observances, and links to other pages with more historical information.
Black History
From the National Archives, this website has an abundance of information about slavery, abolition, civil rights, and many other Black history topics. It also provides links to other sites and projects on the related topics.

Resources for Teachers

Black Children's Books and Authors
Children's literature is becoming increasingly diverse, and it is important that children' be exposed to works by Black authors. This website provides information on books by African American children's authors, including an author directory, a list of award-winning books, and blog posts on related topics.
Black History All Year Long
A great resource for Black History Month teaching ideas, this middleweb website offers an overview of major events in the Black history timeline as well as ideas for teaching different aspects of Black history. This is a resource that can be used at any time during the school year to add the diversity element to lesson plans.
20 Black History Month Activities for February and Beyond
This post on weareteachers.com offers lesson plan ideas for teachers to use when working with Black History Month. It provides links to other helpful websites and encourages teachers to incorporate these lessons throughout the school year.

Image Source: https://flickr.com/photos/clotee_allochuku/6894166213/in/photolist-bvdpqH-bvdoGn-dYw6qx-dYBAt5-Kkzzmp-dYBK7w-bvdnqi-dYBDm3-dYwbtz-dYw4wF-dYBHiU-dYBJQ1-dYvVrn-dYBLid-bvdqnV-bj7B2k-ky9koT-ky9jQP-kyb8DN-bvdpZa-ky9mge-ky8Yit-ky8XZT-2dm65op-khVgVi-bvdngX-23cDj25-bvdmKr-bvdoae-9fAd6H-khVUor-khVYFe-khVjNT-khVRRc-khXJzf-khYBqd-khXEkd-bvdqcD-khW2UD-khYAeA-23cDk1j-khVVZT-khVoRn-khVgKi-bvdqzv-khVtre-khXHHL-khXEnN-khVUr2-khWNwz

CC License: https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/

African American Life and Literature Websites

Image Source: https://pixabay.com/photos/wall-art-public-colorful-people-2562773/

Black America Web
This community and lifestyle site identifies its target audience as African American and provides news stories from all areas of life. It also provides information on Black history on its page "Little Known Black History Facts."
African American Literature Book Club
The African American Literature Book Club is an online bookstore focusing on African American literature and international Black literature. It offers book and author recommendations, book reviews, event listings, articles on literature and the African American community, and much more.
Urban Reviews
Looking for the latest in literature by African American authors? This website is devoted to informing people about the latest African American fiction books. It offers reviews, interviews, and industry news.

African American Podcasts

Image Source:https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Font_Awesome_5_solid_podcast.svg

The Nod -- This podcast features unique stories about Black life in the USA and globally. It celebrates the fact of being Black and provides a range of stories from explanations of odd facts to exciting and inspiring news stories. Available on Spotify and Apple Podcasts.
Black Talk Radio Network -- One of the only Black-owned and independent news and podcasting networks, Black Talk Radio Network provides stories on events, politics, and Black empowerment. Available on most major podcast platforms.
Noire Histoir -- Follow this podcast for stories of Black history facts, Black literature, and motivational news from all across the African diaspora. Available at noirehistori.com/podcast
BOMM: Black Opinions Matter -- An upbeat, multi-host podcast, BOMM provides stories about Black culture, music, and politics. Available on most major podcast platforms.
The Gist of Freedom -- The discussions on this podcast celebrate the African American experience. The discussions focus on how African American history has been preserved in literature and art, and often connect African American culture to current events. Available on Apple Podcasts and other major podcast platforms.
#Tell Black Stories -- This podcast from activist organization ColorofChange features artists, storytellers, and creators of change with the goal of supporting accurate representations of Black people.Topics range from black women in politics, to criminal justice, to entertainment, and more. Available on Apple Podcasts and Spotify.

Databases

Want to do more research on Black History Month, African American history, and other related topics? Memorial Library has many helpful databases with full-text articles on all these topics! Check out some of our favorites below!

African American Communities
In this database you will find primary sources on race relations in the United States.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
For first-hand new stories from African American Life, look no further than this database. Access to coverage from 1827-1956.
America: History and Life
This database will provide citations and abstracts of journal articles relating to United States and Canadian history.
Historical New York Times, 1851-2015
This amazing database provides full-image articles from the New York Times. Read real, first-hand history here!
JSTOR
JSTOR is a wonderful general database with full text articles covering many disciplines. A great place to start your search!
Slavery & Anti-Slavery
Very relevant to studying Black History Month, this database provides collections on the slave trade, abolition movements, and other aspects of the history of slavery from the 16th through 19th centuries.