Zines

NOTE: Covers Only. From the site: 'These scans show 'zines in the collection of Marc Fischer, Chicago, IL. Most of these come from the late 80s and early 90s. At the time [Fischer] was publishing the 'zine Primary Concern and many of these 'zines were trades [Fischer] made with other self-publishers.'

Cosmos was 'an epic serial novel with contributions from seventeen different authors, many of them iconic, orchestrated by a young band of fans from a nascent mimeographed newsletter.'

This website is about as bad as they get. Look to the right of the screen for the links marked 'Digital Files' and hope you get lucky. From the site: 'The Washington, D.C. Punk and Indie Fanzine collection (DCPIFC) seeks to document the variety of publications that were created by fans of and participants in the punk and indie music scenes that have thrived in the Washington, D.C.-area since the late 1970s.' The site is mostly focused on the print collection, but look over to the right for access to a digitized collection.

From the site: 'Digital Fanzine Preservation Society (DFPS). A collection of hardcore and punk music fanzines remastered and collected on the DFPS blogspot by Nagus from 2009-2011.'

From the site: 'The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world.' The zines here are just a sub-set of the overall collection.

About the collection: 'The James L. “Rusty” Hevelin Collection contains over 10,000 science fiction (SF), fantasy, and horror fanzines collected by Rusty Hevelin, famous science fiction fan, collector, dealer, and zine editor.' The Hevelin Collection is housed at the University of Iowa and several hundreds of the zines have been digitized for your inspection here.

From the site: 'This is a collection of zines that can be found on' Archive.org. 'Zines are self-published, non-commercial publications with typically small circulations. They cover a wide range of topics with many focused on politics, art, creative writing, and personal theory.'

From the site: 'A virtual archive of mini-comics, fanzines, small press comics, newave comix and related items.' Looks like covers only.

"Punk Planet was a 16,000 print run punk zine, based in Chicago, Illinois, that focused most of its energy on looking at punk subculture rather than punk as simply another genre of music to which teenagers listen. In addition to covering music, Punk Planet also covered visual arts and a wide variety of progressive issues — including media criticism, feminism, and labor issues."

So there's this online archive of punk zines, but you can't get access unless you're invited. Find out more here: http://maximumrocknroll.com/zines-is-punks/

From the site: 'The Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP) was first launched in November 2003 in an effort to preserve queer zines and make them available to other queers, researchers, historians, punks, and anyone else who has an interest DIY publishing and underground queer communities.'

From the site: 'Here is a long list of non-comprehensive links to old school and new school fanzines, most of them free, published as PDFs and in print.' A substantial re-design of the list has been promised, so look out for that.

NOTE: Covers only. From the site: 'Can you dig it? The RISD Library Zine Collection is a multiplicity of print multiples & experimental publications by a radical, diverse and inclusive range of artists, designers and zinesters from Providence and all over...'

From the site: 'Located in Lawrence, Kansas the mission of Solidarity! Revolutionary Center and Radical Library is to organize as a non-hierarchical collective for the purpose of sharing and distributing information ... These works cover every topic from Globalization and the Industrial Prison Complex to first kisses.'

42 zines (at the time of this writing).

From the site: 'Over 3,500 zines relating to the experience of women, girls, and women-identified people, with a majority dating from 1985-2005.'

From the site: 'The Coslet-Sapienza Fantasy and Science Fiction Fanzine collection is comprised of over 15,000 fanzines that date from 1937-1972, and there are tens of thousands of fanzines altogether...' There is a gallery of covers from some of the zines.

On Twitter: 'The Forgotten Zine Archive is a home for Irish & international ZINES. Follow for updates & ziney RTs.'

From the site: 'The Smithsonian Libraries’ collection of artists’ books spans numerous formats, styles, and countries, and the works are available to researchers for study and inspiration.'

The Temple University LIbraries 'Science Fiction Fanzine Collection contains a large number of serialized science fiction fanzines, primarily from the United States, although some are of foreign origin, including reviews, short fiction, letters, cartoons and drawings, and an exchange of information about science fiction conventions and fan interests.'

From the site: 'ZAPP, the Zine Archive & Publishing Project, was a volunteer-run organization dedicated to preserving and promoting self-publishing in Seattle and beyond.' Includes some digitized covers.

This list is not at all comprehensive and I'm not sure how often it is updated, but it is very helpful.