Library Class and Subject Guides: Researcher's Guide to Data: Databases for Data

Databases

Britannica Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Britannica Online Academic has been thoroughly updated with new content that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries. New content includes World Data Analyst, Gateway to the Classics, and a collection of Notable Quotations as well as new functionality including advanced search capabilities and the Britannica Workspace, a research organizer. *This resource is provided by the Electronic Library of Minnesota, freely accessible to anyone in Minnesota!*
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually.
ICPSR - Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
All users will need to create a login for this database. Comprises a "vast archive of social science data." Please contact Scott Granberg-Rademacker (jeffrey.granberg-rademacker@mnsu.edu or 507-389-6939) for ICPSR assistance.

Minnesota Compass
Minnesota Compass is a social indicators project that measures progress statewide and by region, county, and larger cities. It provides data and information on demographics and trends in topic areas such as education, economy and workforce, health, housing, and public safety.

Passport This link opens in a new window
Provides "macroeconomic statistics, market size data and lifestyle trends on a global basis." Includes "one million statistics for 205 countries, volume and value market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, and 205 Euromonitor country profiles." Available only to faculty, staff, and currently enrolled students.
PubChem
pub chem
This link opens in a new window
PubChem contains the chemical structures of small organic molecules and information on their biological activities. PubChem includes substance information, compound structures, and bioactivity data in three primary databases, PCSubstance, PCCompound, and PCBioAssay, respectively. PubChem is integrated with Entrez, NCBI's primary search engine, and also provides compound neighboring, sub/superstructure, similarity structure, bioactivity data, and other searching features.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Coverage: 1790 to present.
World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean This link opens in a new window
Includes primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video; and more.