Library Class and Subject Guides: Fun Reads & DVDs: Fun Reads

Fun Reads at Memorial Library

Related Guides

Science Fiction / Fantasy / Horror at MSU
by Jessica Schomberg Last Updated Aug 28, 2024 38 views this year
Graphic Novels, Animation, and Manga at MSU
by Jessica Schomberg Last Updated Aug 28, 2024 168 views this year
Romance and Love Stories at MSU
by Jessica Schomberg Last Updated Aug 28, 2024 44 views this year
World Religions
by Bobby Bothmann Last Updated Sep 16, 2024 131 views this year
Classic Books
by Jessica Schomberg Last Updated Sep 12, 2023 2333 views this year

Ask a Librarian

Librarians online 24/7:

	In Person
	E-mail
	Text: 1-507-203-1697
	Appointment
	Phone: 1-507-389-5958
	Search our FAQs

Best Sellers Collection at Memorial Library

The Best Sellers collection is located by the reference desk in Memorial Library. Use the link below to see what titles we have available in this collection.

Best Sellers Collection at Memorial Library
A collection of bestselling fiction and nonfiction books

Books by Genre Available at Memorial Library

Each link lists books in the library by genre.

Graphic Novels
See also the Anime, Manga, and Graphic Novels guide to the left
Historical Fiction
Love Stories
See also the Romance and Love Stories guide to the left
Mystery Fiction
Science Fiction
See also the Science Fiction/Fantasy guide to the left
Short Stories
Suspense Fiction
Vampire Fiction

Browsing for Novels by American & English Authors in the General Collection

Most novels in Memorial Library are located in the general collection using the Library of Congress classification system. In this system, literature is sorted by country of origin then time period. Use the chart and map below to browse for novels.

American and English literature in the general collection is located on 3rd Floor.

American literature Individual authors or works	Call Number Ranges
Colonial period (17th and 18th centuries)	PS700-893
19th century	PS991-(3390)
1900-1960	PS3500-3549
1961-2000	PS3550-3576
2001-	PS3600-3626
English literature Individual authors or works	Call Number Range
Anglo-Saxon literature	PR1490-1799
Anglo-Norman period. Early & Middle English	PR1803-2165
English renaissance (1500-1640)	PR2199-3195
17th and 18th centuries (1640-1770)	PR3291-3785
19th century, 1770/1800-1890/1900	PR3991-5990
1900-1960	PR6000-6049
1961-2000	PR6050-6076
2001-	PR6100-6126

Browsing for Novels by International Authors in the General Collection

Listed below is a brief outline of literature from other cultures

Other Individual authors or works	Call Number Range & Floor
African	PL8009.5-8014 (Second)
Arabic	PJ7695.8-7976 (Second)
Canadian	PR9199
Chinese	PL2661-2979 (Second)
Danish	PT8050-8177.36 (Third)
Dutch	PT5555-5881.36 (Third)
Flemish	PT6400-6467.36 (Third)
French	PQ1600 -2726 (Third)
German	PT1501-2688 (Third)
Other General Collection Novels could be located on2nd or 3rd floor Call numbers P-PN = 2nd Floor (see map below) Call numbers PQ-PZ = 3rd Floor (see map below)
Hindi, Urdu, Hindustani	PK2030-2212 (Second)
Italian	PQ4001-5999 (Third)
Japanese	PL784-866 (Second)
Korean	PL986-993 (Second)
Mexican	PR9200-9200.9 (Third)
Norwegian	PT8750-8952.36 (Second)
Portuguese	PQ9000-9999 (Third)
Russian	PG3300-3493.96 (Second)
Spanish	PQ6271-9326 (Third)
Swedish	PT9650-9877.36 (Third)