Library Class and Subject Guides: ELE 222W -- Human Relations in a Multicultural Society: Resources

Web Sites

Countries and Their Cultures > Multicultural America
Provides substantial information about a large number of different cultures and ethnic groups in America, including wedding traditions, cuisine, gender roles, religion, and much more.
Becoming Minnesotan: Stories of Recent Immigrants and Refugees
Minnesota Historical Society. Overviews and oral histories from immigrant groups in Minnesota. Includes Asian Indian, Filipino, Hmong, Khmer, Latino, Somali, and Tibetan populations.
Disability Minnesota
State of Minnesota. Disability Minnesota is intended for people with disabilities, their families, employers, veterans, workforce professionals, and the general public.
Immigrants in Minnesota
Resources on Minnesota Issues guide is compiled by staff at the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library on a topic of interest to Minnesota legislators. It is designed to provide an introduction to the topic, directing the user to a variety of sources, and is not intended to be exhaustive.
Who are Minnesota’s new Americans? Here's what the data tell us
October 2015 MinnPost article with statistics about immigrant population in Minnesota.

Video Resources

** Diary: Asian Minnesotans
** Diary: Black Minnesotans
** Diary: Hispanic Minnesotans
** Diary: Native American Minnesotans
** East Africa: New Faces New Experiences
ADA: The next 25 years
Minnesota public television program highlighting Minnesotans with disabilities. October 2015.
Independence To Inclusion: Disability Is Another Part of Life
Minnesota public television program about Minnesotans with disabilities. 2014.

Ethnic Groups--African Americans/Black Americans

North Star--Stories of Minnesota's Black Pioneers
Somali Minnesotans
Provides an overview and timeline of Somali immigration to Minnesota. From the Minnesota Historical Society.

Ethnic Groups--Asian Americans

Asian Nation--Asian American History, Demographics, & Issues
An information resource and exploration of the historical, demographic, political, and cultural issues that make up today's diverse Asian American community.
Asian American Press
Search for Hmong in Minnesota
Asian Indians in Minnesota
Minnesota Historical Society. Overview and links to useful sites.

Ethnic Groups--European Americans

European Americans in Minnesota
Provides an overview of when and why major ethnic groups of Europe moved to Minnesota. From the Minnesota Historical Society.
European Americans on the Iron Range
From the Minnesota Historical Society.

Ethnic Groups--Hispanic/Latine Americans

Latino Journeys in Minnesota
Timeline and overview of Latino/Chicano migration to Minnesota. From the Minnesota Historical Society.
Minnesota Council on Latino Affairs

Ethnic Groups--Middle Eastern Americans

Ethnic Groups--Native Americans

Teaching Native American History and Culture
From the Minnesota Historical Society
Minnesota's Powwows
From Explore Minnesota

Topical -- Religion

Religion in Minnesota
Demographic information about religions practiced in Minnesota. From the PEW research center.
Cambodian Buddhism in Minnesota
From Carleton College.
Christians in Minnesota
From Carleton College.
Dakota and Ojibwe religious history
From Carleton College.
Hmong Shamanism in Minnesota
From Carleton College.
Muslims in Minnesota
Historical information from Carleton College.

Topical -- Disability

Minnesota Council on Disability
The Minnesota Council on Disability (MCD) was established in 1973 to advise the Governor, state agencies, the state legislature, and the public on disability issues.
Disability Hub MN
Disability Hub MN is a free statewide resource network with information about health care, work, housing, and more.
Minnesota Disability Law Center
Legal aid for Minnesotans with disability.

Topical--Gender

Over the Rainbow: Queer and Trans History in Minnesota
The identities in the LGBTQIA acronym—lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, intersex, and asexual—are relatively recent inventions. This might at first suggest that people representing each of those categories did not exist before the development of the terms themselves. But there have always been people in Minnesota, as in the rest of the world, who have lived outside perceived norms of gender and sexuality; the words used to name them have just changed over time.
Minnesota Women's Legislative Timeline: 1919-2020
Significant Legislation Passed by the Minnesota Legislature Since Suffrage, including labor legislation, human rights laws, no fault divorce, funding domestic violence shelters, pay equity, and parental leave laws.
Women in Minnesota: Weaving the Web of Society in the North Star State
The part played by women in Minnesota's development has been deeply influenced by demography. Immigrants have been important in the state from its beginnings until the twenty-first century, and in their struggles for cohesion, identity, and leadership, newcomers have relied on women as supporters of community and preservers of language and culture.

Topical--Region and Geography

Minnesota Geography
Provides links to sites will tell you the length and width of the North Star state, how it got its name, how many lakes and miles of river it has, the flavor of the state muffin, and much much more!

PebbleGo Next: States and Native American Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Students in grades 3-6 will learn about key concepts related to States and American Indians.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
PolicyMap is a data and mapping tool used by government agencies, universities, healthcare institutions and nonprofits to solve place-based problems.

Topical--Sexual orientation

Over the Rainbow: Queer and Trans History in Minnesota
The identities in the LGBTQIA acronym—lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, intersex, and asexual—are relatively recent inventions. This might at first suggest that people representing each of those categories did not exist before the development of the terms themselves. But there have always been people in Minnesota, as in the rest of the world, who have lived outside perceived norms of gender and sexuality; the words used to name them have just changed over time.
Minnesota's Equality Profile
Provides information about Minnesota's laws and policies related to LGBTQ+ people, and provides comparisons with other states.
LGBTQIA+ Communities in Minnesota
Provides links to articles that document the experiences of LGBTQIA+ people in Minnesota.
A picture of LGBTQ Minnesotans, Part 1: What existing data sources can, and can’t, tell us
Minnesota Compass looked into what current demographic tools can, and can’t, tell us about LGBTQ+ Minnesotans and their households. They also give some background on why accurate data are so hard to come by, and how that may change.

Topical--Language

Minnesota Immigration & Language Reports
Immigrants born in Mexico, Somalia, Laos, India and numerous other places across the globe now call Minnesota home. Provides information about their characteristics and languages.

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
PolicyMap is a data and mapping tool used by government agencies, universities, healthcare institutions and nonprofits to solve place-based problems.

Minnesota Demographic Data
Provides language and educational attainment data.

Topical--Generation and Age

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
PolicyMap is a data and mapping tool used by government agencies, universities, healthcare institutions and nonprofits to solve place-based problems.

Minnesotans by Age
Infographics showing Minnesotans by age.
Minnesota Age, Race & Ethnicity
Minnesota demographic information, looking at changing population data over time.

Topical--Military

Minnesota's Military History
The history of Fort Snelling, from its construction and activation in the 1820s until its decommissioning in 1946, reflects the development of the state of Minnesota and of the United States and its military endeavors over 120 years.
At Home and Abroad: Minnesota at War
In Minnesota as in the rest of the United States, the tides of history have been driven by war or its threat, shaping who we are as a nation and a people.

	In Person
	E-mail
	Text: 1-507-203-1697
	Appointment
	Phone: 1-507-389-5958
	Search our FAQs

ELE 222W -- Human Relations in a Multicultural Society

Can't find what you need?

Ask a Librarian

Web Sites

Video Resources

Ethnic Groups--African Americans/Black Americans

Ethnic Groups--Asian Americans

Ethnic Groups--European Americans

Ethnic Groups--Hispanic/Latine Americans

Ethnic Groups--Middle Eastern Americans

Ethnic Groups--Native Americans

Topical -- Religion

Topical -- Disability

Topical--Gender

Topical--Region and Geography

Topical--Sexual orientation

Topical--Language

Topical--Generation and Age

Topical--Military