Library Class and Subject Guides: Communication Sciences & Disorders: Find Articles Using Databases

Core Journal Databases

ComDisDome This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to materials about all aspects of communication disorders and science. Can browse broad subject categories or search specific topics.
LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database abstracts and indexes international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences as well as covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.

ERIC on ProQuest This link opens in a new window
The Educational Resources Information Center database provides extensive access to educational-related literature and information in a variety of formats.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and selected full text to articles about medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Medline This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to articles covering all medical topics, including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to articles and books about psychology and "disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work."
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of disciplines such as agriculture, biology & genetics, arts & humanities, biochemistry, business, chemical engineering, chemistry, computer science, earth & planetary sciences, economics, environmental science, mathematics, medicine & dentistry, physics & astronomy, social sciences, and veterinary science & medicine.

See our Journal Articles guide to learn more about finding articles for your research.

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
An interactive diagram of the typical layout of a scholarly article

What is a “peer-reviewed” journal?

Submissions are usually reviewed by professionals, such as professors, research scientists, or other scholars
The scholarly professionals or “peers” have qualifications and interests similar to the authors
Acceptance for publication is usually selective
An editorial board may manage the journal, its contents, and the review process
The journal is often searchable in prominent indexes within the discipline

Common elements of a scholarly or “peer-reviewed” journal article

Abstract – What is this article about? The abstract is a concise summary.

Introduction – What is the key problem, issue, or question?

Method – How will the author investigate the problem? With a laboratory test? Or a survey? Or another type of study?

Results – Research findings, including observations, statistics, graphs, etc.

Discussion / Conclusion – What did the author learn? What did the study prove? What questions are still unanswered?

References – What other scholarly articles did the author consult when conducting this research and writing this article?