Library Class and Subject Guides: Family Consumer Science: Food, Nutrition, and Dietetics

Ask a Librarian

Librarians online 24/7:

	In Person
	E-mail
	Text: 1-507-203-1697
	Appointment
	Phone: 1-507-389-5958
	Search our FAQs

Find Background Information

Encyclopedias and dictionaries often ...

provide an overview of the topic
help you to understand the topic
provide additional resources

Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
AccessScience This link opens in a new window
Reference material covering all major scientific disciplines.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window

Bowes & Church's food values of portions commonly used (19th ed.) by Jean A.T. Pennington and Judith Spungen
Call Number: Reference Collection (Non-circulating)--1st Floor TX551 .P385 2010
ISBN: 9780781782890
Publication Date: c2010
The Cambridge World History of Food (2 vols.) by Kenneth F. Kiple (Editor); Kriemhild Conee Ornelas (Editor)
Call Number: Reference Collection (Non-circulating)--1st Floor TX353 .C255 2000
ISBN: 9780521402149
Publication Date: 2000
The Complete Guide to Nutrition in Primary Care by edited by Darwin Deen, Lisa Hark
Call Number: Ebook--Click on title to access
ISBN: 9780470691793
Publication Date: 2007
CRC Desk Reference for Nutrition (3rd ed.) by Carolyn D. Berdanier
Call Number: Reference Collection (Non-circulating)--1st Floor QP141 .B523 2011
ISBN: 9781439848449
Publication Date: 2011
A Cultural History of Food (6 vols.) by Fabio Parasecoli (Editor); Peter Scholliers (Editor)
Call Number: Reference Collection (Non-circulating)--1st Floor GT2850 .C8528 2012
ISBN: 9781847883551
Publication Date: 2012
Dictionary of Food Ingredients by Robert S. Igoe
Call Number: Ebook--Click on title to access
ISBN: 9781441997135
Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition by editor-in-chief, Benjamin Caballero, Bloomberg School of Public Health, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD, USA ; edited by Benjamin Caballero, Lindsay Allen, Andrew Prentice.
Call Number: Ebook--Click on title to access
ISBN: 9780123848857
Publication Date: 2013
Essential guide to food additives (4th ed.) by edited by Mike Saltmarsh
Call Number: Ebook--Click on title to access
ISBN: 9781628704686
Publication Date: 2013
Fermented Foods and Beverages of the World by Jyoti Prakash Tamang
Call Number: Reference Collection (Non-circulating)--1st Floor TP371.44 .F468 2010
ISBN: 9781420094954
Publication Date: 2010
Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia by Ken Albala
Call Number: Ebook--Click on title to access
ISBN: 9780313376276
Publication Date: 2011
From Famine to Fast Food by Ken Albala (Editor)
Call Number: Reference Collection (Non-circulating)--1st Floor RA645.N87 F76 2014
ISBN: 9781610697439
Publication Date: 2014
The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets: A Guide to Health and Nutrition by Kristin Key, editor
Call Number: Ebook--Click on title to access
ISBN: 9781414498874
Publication Date: 2013
Handbook of Clinical Nutrition and Aging by Connie W. Bales (Editor); Julie L. Locher (Editor); Edward Saltzman (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook--Click on title to access
ISBN: 9781493919284
Publication Date: 2014
Handbook of Food Analytical Chemistry, Water, Proteins, Enzymes, Lipids, and Carbohydrates by Ronald E. Wrolstad; Eric A. Decker; Steven J. Schwartz; Peter Sporns
Call Number: Reference Collection (Non-circulating)--1st Floor TX545 .H34 2005
ISBN: 9780471663782
Publication Date: 2005
The Handbook of Food Research by Warren Belasco (Editor); Anne Murcott (Editor); Peter Jackson (Editor); Bloomsbury Publishing Staff (Editor)
Call Number: Reference Collection (Non-circulating)--1st Floor TX367 .H36 2013
ISBN: 9781847889164
Publication Date: 2013
Handbook of Nutrition and Food (3rd ed.) by Carolyn D. Berdanier (Editor); Johanna T. Dwyer (Editor); David Heber (Editor)
Call Number: Reference Collection (Non-circulating)--1st FloorQP141 .H345 2014
ISBN: 9781466505711
Publication Date: [2014]
Handbook of Vitamins (5th ed.) by Janos Zempleni; John W. Suttie; Jesse F. Gregory III; Patrick J. Stover
Call Number: Reference Collection (Non-circulating)--1st Floor QP771 .H35 2013
ISBN: 9781466515567
Publication Date: 2013
In the Hands of a Chef by Culinary Institute of America (CIA) Staff (Created by, Contribution by)
Call Number: Reference Collection (Non-circulating)--1st Floor TX656 .I52 2008
ISBN: 9780470080269
Publication Date: 2008
Modernist Cuisine by Chris Young; Nathan Myhrvold; Maxime Bilet
Call Number: Reference Collection (Non-circulating)--1st Floor TX651 .M94 2011
ISBN: 9780982761007
Publication Date: 2011
Multicultural Handbook of Food, Nutrition and Dietetics by Aruna Thaker (Editor); Arlene Barton (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook--Click on title to access
ISBN: 9781118350492
Publication Date: 2012
Nutrition and Diet Therapy Reference Dictionary by Rosalinda T. Lagua; Virginia S. Claudio
Call Number: Reference Collection (Non-circulating)--1st Floor RM217 .L34 2004
ISBN: 9780813810027
Publication Date: 2004
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America (3 vols.) by Andrew Smith (Editor); Bruce Kraig
Call Number: Reference Collection (Non-circulating)--1st Floor TX349 .E45 2013
ISBN: 9780199734962
Publication Date: 2013
The Professional Chef by Culinary Institute of America (CIA) Staff
Call Number: Reference Collection (Non-circulating)--1st Floor TX820 .P738 2011
ISBN: 9780470421352
Publication Date: 2011
They Eat That? by Jonathan Deutsch (Editor); Natalya Murakhver (Editor)
Call Number: Reference Collection (Non-circulating)--1st Floor GT2850 .T44 2012
ISBN: 9780313380587
Publication Date: 2012
World Food (2 vols.) by Mary Ellen Snodgrass
Call Number: Reference Collection (Non-circulating)--1st Floor TX349 .S66 2013
ISBN: 9780765682789
Publication Date: 2012

Find Articles

Click here to get step-by-step instructions for how to find articles on a selected topic.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window

Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
Includes the following indexes: ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering; Biological Sciences; Biology Digest; BioOne Abstracts and Indexes; Conference Papers Index; MEDLINE; Physical Education Index; Plant Science; TOXLINE
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Medline This link opens in a new window
Nursing and Allied Health Premium Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Education Source This link opens in a new window
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ERIC on ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Sports Medicine & Education Index This link opens in a new window
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
TOXLINE This link opens in a new window

Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window

Find Books

Watch a YouTube video on finding books in Memorial Library

Click here to get step-by-step instructions for how to find books on a selected topic.

WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to books and other materials (including those that are out of print) held by libraries worldwide and allows users to request books via Interlibrary Loan. *This resource is provided by the Electronic Library of Minnesota, freely accessible to anyone in Minnesota!*

Books not owned by MSU Memorial Library can be requested from another library by submitting an interlibrary loan request. For information about this service, click here.

Find Statistics

Statistics often provide a concise and effective means to ...

explain a viewpoint
integrate evidence to support an opinion or claim
assist in presenting research data in a logical and easy to understand manner

Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window

The World Bank | World DataBank

Family Consumer Science

Ask a Librarian

Find Background Information

Find Articles

Find Books

Find Statistics

Explore Web Resources