Library Class and Subject Guides: Open Access: Open Access Repositories

Open Access Repositories

Open Access repositories can be institution based (often called Institutional Repositories) that are managed by universities, colleges, or consortiums OR subject specific. Here are a few places that you can visit to find examples of open access repositories.

Minnesota State University, Mankato's Institutional Repository

Cornerstone: A Collection of Scholarly and Creative Works is the new digital home for the scholarly and creative achievements of Minnesota State University, Mankato. Cornerstone showcases the intellectual output of Minnesota State University Mankato’s faculty, staff and students by preserving their works digitally and presenting them to the world in an easy-to-find format. Cornerstone is managed, organized, and made accessible by Library Services and utilizes bepress' Digital Commons® platform.

Cornerstone helps to make your research open to a global audience!

INTERESTED? HAVE QUESTIONS? JOIN US IN BUILDING CORNERSTONE! SUBMIT YOUR WORKS TODAY!

Contact Heidi Southworth, Digital Initiatives Librarian at heidi.southworth@mnsu.edu or 507-389-5066 for more information.

Other Open Access Repositories

Digital Commons Network
A list of over 500 various institutions using the bepress Digital Commons® platform (which is what Library Services uses for Cornerstone).
OpenDOAR
OpenDOAR is a directory of academic open access repositories.
Opendora
A digital archive for open educational resources that serves as a central repository for Minnesota State faculty and staff.
Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR)
The aim of ROAR is to promote the development of open access by providing timely information about the growth and status of repositories throughout the world.

Discipline Specific Open Access Repositories

AgriRxiv
agriRxiv is a free, open access source of unpublished preprints across the agricultural sciences.
arXiv
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 1,789,341 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
bioRxiv
bioRxiv is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences.
engrxiv
engrXiv (engineering archive) is dedicated to the dissemination of engineering knowledge quickly and efficiently.
Open Access Directory List of Disciplinary Repositories
From the Simmons College Open Access Directory wiki, a list of subject-specific repositories.
OSF Preprints
From the Center for Open Science (COS), search and find preprints in a variety of disciplines.
PsyArXiv
Free preprint server for the psychological sciences.
PubMed Central (PMC)
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
RePEc (Research Papers in Economics)
RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) is a collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 102 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in Economics and related sciences
SocArXiv
An open archive of the social sciences, SocArXiv provides a free, non-profit, open access platform for social scientists to upload working papers, preprints, and published papers, with the option to link data and code.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
SSRN is a platform for the dissemination of early-stage research, representing disciplines across the full research spectrum, including the applied sciences, health sciences, humanities, life sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences.
TechRxiv
Preprints for the electrical engineering and compouter science communities, sponsored by IEEE.
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository
The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.