Library Class and Subject Guides: Art & Design, Art History, and Art Education: Find Articles using Databases

Find Articles for Most Art & Design, Art History, and Art Education Topics

These search tools, also known as databases, will help you find peer-reviewed journal articles, an essential resource for assignments. Visit our Articles guide for detailed instructions.

Humanities Index This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to articles in internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English-speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK.
MAS Complete This link opens in a new window
Find subjects such as art, history, sports, and music in popular high school magazines and reference books.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The Educational Resources Information Center database provides extensive access to educational-related literature and information in a variety of formats.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980's.

Project MUSE and JSTOR are separate journal databases that work together. Project MUSE contains the current 5 years of a journal's content, and JSTOR contains the content that is older than 5 years. Library Services does not have access to all content in either resource, and does not necessarily have the matching title in both databases. The power in use of these databases is in browsing journals under specific subject areas. Please use MavScholar for comprehensive searching of these databases for articles.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access all JSTOR archival journal collections, now also including Sustainability, Public Health, Security Studies, and more.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
A collection of journals and eBooks covering essential humanities, social sciences, and other topics.

Zines & Artists' Books

Zines & Artists' Books
This link will take you to another MNSU library guide about zines and artists' books.

Art & Design Magazines

Aesthetica
"Aesthetica is a worldwide destination for art and culture. In-depth features foreground today’s most innovative practitioners across art, design, photography, architecture, music and film."

See link in MavScholar: https://link.mnsu.edu/aesthetica
See the website: https://aestheticamagazine.com/
Aperture
"Aperture, a not-for-profit foundation, connects the photo community and its audiences with the most inspiring work, the sharpest ideas, and with each other—in print, in person, and online."

See link in MavScholar: https://link.mnsu.edu/aperture
See also the website: https://aperture.org/
See also the print collection: https://link.mnsu.edu/aperprint
ArtAsiaPacific Magazine
"Established in 1993, ArtAsiaPacific magazine is the leading English-language periodical covering contemporary art and culture from Asia, the Pacific and the Middle East."

See the website: https://link.mnsu.edu/asiapacific
Artforum
"Artforum is an international monthly magazine specializing in contemporary art."

See link in MavScholar: https://link.mnsu.edu/artforum
See also the print collection: https://link.mnsu.edu/afprint
Art in America
"Since 1913, Art in America has published groundbreaking critical insights about contemporary art and culture. Each monthly issue features exhibition reviews, interviews with leading artists, and in-depth essays by critics, curators, and scholars at the forefront of their fields."

See link in MavScholar: https://link.mnsu.edu/artinamerica
See also the website: https://www.artnews.com/c/art-in-america/
See also the print collection: https://link.mnsu.edu/aiaprint
ArtNet
Use ArtNet to learn about contemporary artists and to see their work.
ARTnews
"Founded in 1902, ARTnews is the oldest and most widely circulated art magazine in the world ... Published in print four times a year, it reports on the art, people, issues, trends, and events shaping the international art world."

See link in MavScholar: https://link.mnsu.edu/artnews
See also the website: https://www.artnews.com/
See also the print collection: https://link.mnsu.edu/anprint
Black Art in America
"Black Art in American is a multifaceted arts company based in Columbus Georgia. Since 2010 [their] mission has been to document, preserve and promote the contributions of the African American arts community."

See the website: https://link.mnsu.edu/baia
broken pencil
"Since 1995, [they] have been a mega-zine dedicated exclusively to exploring independent creative action. Published four times a year, each issue of Broken Pencil features reviews of hundreds of zines and small press books, plus comics, excerpts from the best of the underground press, interviews, original fiction and commentary on all aspects of the indie arts."

See the website: https://link.mnsu.edu/brokenpencil
Ceramics Monthly
"As the world's most widely circulated ceramics magazine, Ceramics Monthly lets you indulge your artistic curiosity, instructs you on techniques and styles, and introduces you to the world’s most interesting artists!"

See link in MavScholar: https://link.mnsu.edu/ceramicsmonthly
See also the website: https://ceramicartsnetwork.org/magazines-subscriptions/ceramics-monthly/
See also the print collection: https://link.mnsu.edu/cmprint
Ceramics Now
"Ceramics Now Magazine is a journal that invites us to think about the various facets of contemporary ceramics and its creators by publishing thoughtful interviews and articles."

See the website: https://link.mnsu.edu/ceramicsnow
Communication Arts
"Founded by Richard Coyne and Robert Blanchard in 1959, Communication Arts is the premier source of inspiration for graphic designers, art directors, design firms, corporate design departments, advertising agencies, interactive designers, illustrators and photographers—everyone involved in visual communication."

See the website: https://www.commarts.com/
See also the print collection: https://link.mnsu.edu/commarts
Eye
"Eye, the international review of graphic design, is a quarterly printed magazine about graphic design and visual culture."

See the website: https://link.mnsu.edu/eye
Hi-Fructose
"Hi-Fructose began as a quarterly print art magazine, founded by artists, Attaboy and Annie Owens in 2005. Hi-Fructose focuses squarely on the art which transcends genre and trend, assuring readers thorough coverage and content that is informative and original. Hi-Fructose showcases an amalgamation of new contemporary, emerging as well distinguished artists, with a spotlight on awe inspiring spectacles from round the world."

See the website: https://link.mnsu.edu/hifructose
Journal of Artists' Books
"[Their] mission is to engage with the field of artists books by means of critical discourse and creative exploration of the intersections of book arts, artists books, poetry, photography, experimental literature, printmaking, graphic design and other book-related creative endeavors."

See the link in MavScholar: https://link.mnsu.edu/jab
Juxtapoz
"Juxtapoz launched with the mission of connecting modern genres like psychedelic and hot rod art, graffiti, street art, and illustration, to the context of broader more historically recognized genres of art like Pop, assemblage, old master painting, and conceptual art. Although based in San Francisco, Juxtapoz was founded upon the belief in the virtues of Southern California pop culture and freedom from the conventions of the "established" New York City art world."

See the website: https://link.mnsu.edu/juxtapoz
Sugarcane Magazine
"Sugarcane Magazine is a Black art and culture media company. Black culture is the most recognized culture in the world and influences every corner of humanity. With the rise in Black visual art along with music, dance, design, and literature, Sugarcane Magazine controls the cultural currency of Black people."

See the website: https://link.mnsu.edu/sugarcane

Art & Design, Art History, and Art Education

Find Journal Articles by DOI or PMID

Lookup an article by DOI or PMID

Browse Journal Collections Online

Find Articles for Most Art & Design, Art History, and Art Education Topics

Zines & Artists' Books

Art & Design Magazines