Music Industry

Provides a detailed overview of current research on the production of mono and stereo recorded music, consisting of 33 chapters, each written by leaders in the field of music production.

Analysis of how policy frames the behavior of audiences, industries, and governments in the production and consumption of popular music. Covering a range of industrial and national contexts, this collection assesses how music policy has become an important arm of government, and a contentious arena of global debate across areas of cultural trade, intellectual property, and mediacultural content.

Provides detailed, plain-language explanations of the clauses commonly found in legal agreements such as engagement (gig) contracts, artist-management contracts, and producer agreements.

Traces the history of the music industry from the Colonial era to the present day, identifying trends and the innovative leaders who have shaped its course; spanning classical to country and hip hop to heavy metal. Contains 500+ cross-referenced entries on important artists, managers, companies, industry terminology and significant trade associations.

The Second edition includes coverage of the latest developments in music streaming, including new business models created by the streaming service sector. There is also expanded exploration of the music industry in different regions of the UK and in other areas of Europe, and coverage of new debates within the music industry, in-depth explorations of different elements of the music industry, including the live music sector, the recording industry and the classical music business analysis of business practices across all areas of the industry, including publishing, synchronisation and trading in the music industry profiles presenting interviews with key figures workings in the music industry detailed further reading for each chapter and a glossary of essential music industry terms.

Provides a highly comprehensive and accessible summary of the key aspects of popular music studies such as Theory and method, The business of popular music, Media technology, and Digital Economies.