Library Class and Subject Guides: CIS 600 (Fall 2024)--Research Methods: Write &amp; Cite with ACM Style

ACM Writing Style

The Association for Computer Machinery (ACM) has developed a style guide for citing and referencing scholarly publications in the computing field.

ACM Links

ACM Citation Style and Reference Formats
ACM, the world's largest educational and scientific computing society, delivers resources that advance computing as a science and a profession.
New Word Template for ACM Authors (Video)
Working with volunteers from both the SIG and journal communities, ACM has developed a new, easy-to-use Word authoring template and workflow which will allow authors to concentrate on their content rather than focus on print output formatting, as well as reduce the time needed to prepare the text for submission.
User Manual ACM MS Word Template (PDF)
This user manual provides all essential information about how to prepare a manuscript using the ACM Wordbased template. This manual includes a description of ACM Word template functions, contingencies, alternate modes of operation, and step-by-step procedures for system access and use. Using the Word template one can write and generate the manuscript as per ACM’s requirements. The ACM Word template contains all necessary styles with formatting and macros to validate markup.
Cite a Journal in ACM style using a citation generator
Online citation generator to cite a journal using the ACM citation style.
LaTex Authors
acmart.cls, the official ACM Master article template for LaTeX, consolidates 8 individual ACM journal and ACM proceedings templates.
The new LATEX package incorporates updated versions of the following ACM templates:
-ACM Journals: ACM Small, ACM Large, ACM and TOG (also for SIGGRAPH authors publishing in TOG)
-ACM proceedings templates: ACM Standard, SIGCHI, SIGCHI abstracts, and SIGPLAN

Citing and Using Sources FAQs

Ever wonder why we have to use citations or why they have to be in a certain format? Check out our FAQs for answers!

What is a citation? What is a reference?

A citation is a way to tell people that an idea, words, or picture, came from someone else. It is a way of referring to the original work; it tells your reader or audiencewhere you got that idea, words, or picture from.

Image from Google Dictionary

The word "reference" is often used interchangeably with citation. It means the same thing. You are being asked to refer to wherever the information came from originally.

Image from Google Dictionary

A bibliography is a collection of citations or references, usually at the end of a work.

Why do I have to cite?

In Western culture, we believe that ideas belong to the creator. Their ideas may come in different forms, whether written, spoken, or visual (like a piece of art or a photo), but it's still their idea. We give credit to those individuals who created the ideas originally. If you don't give credit to who the creator, that's stealing someone else's work and it's known as plagiarism.

Citing is how we give credit. But besides giving proper credit and avoiding plagiarism, there's a number of reasons why a person should cite.

To provide enough information that your reader can go find the original source if they wanted
To show your reader you've done proper research and got your material from reliable sources
To show professionalism in your work by following formatting standards

What is a citation style?

Just like there is a specific format to writing a resume or a letter, citations have specific formats or "styles" as well. These styles set a standard for how to cite and where to put citation information in a paper.

These styles are developed based on the need of the creators, and they usually have slightly different focuses. Some of the most popular ones include:

APA - From the American Psychological Associate, it's usually used for social sciences, business and nursing
MLA - Modern Language Association style is often used in the humanities, like art and literature
Chicago/Turbian - This style is often used in the humanities as well
ASA - America Sociological Association style is often used in sociology

There are more styles than this, and you can find out more about them on our Citations Guide.

Resources for Citing

Working with citations, but can't seem to get the hang of it? There are a lot of resources to help you out!

Reference Librarians - Consider stopping by the reference desk, or contacting them by phone, email or online chat if you have any reference questions.
Style Guides - Memorial Library has multiple style guides that you can use for reference right here in the library!
OWL Purdue Online- This online website has a lot of informaiton about many different citation styles!
Center for Academic Success- The tutoring center in the lower level of the library is here to help you with your papers and citations!

Citation Managers

There are a number of citation mangers or applications developed to assist researchers with collecting, managing, and citing information sources. Two citation managers that are available for free and recommended by the library are Mendeley and Zotero. Click here for additional information.