What do you need to know?
Once you understand the background of your character, you need to conduct research to make and defend your arguments during game play. This research should include primary sources.
- Start with the Core Texts in the back of the textbook. Part 5, starts on page 87. (These are great primary sources.)
- Looking for more? Check out the Primary Sources listed below.
Find Sources Using MavScholar
Free Online Sources
- EuroDocsIncludes primary historical documents, transcriptions, facsimiles, and translations from Western Europe. Browse documents by country. Can also browse documents by selecting "Medieval and Renaissance Europe" or "Europe as a Supranational Region."
- Liberty, Equality, Fraternity: Exploring the French RevolutionThis site with more than 600 primary documents is a collaboration of the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media (George Mason University) and American Social History Project (City University of New York), supported by grants from the Florence Gould Foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities
- Avalon Project: Primary documents in Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy, and GovernmentProvides historic documents by time period. Avalon Project is a product of the Yale Law School.
Specialized Databases
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Gale Primary Sources allows unified searching of Gale primary source collections for a comprehensive research experience.
- Slavery & Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new windowIncludes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, and the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system from the sixteenth through the nineteenth century.
Historical Newspapers and Magazines
- Times Digital Archive, 1785 - Onwards This link opens in a new window
Historical newspaper archive that covers all major international historical events from 1785 and onward.
- American Periodicals (1740-1940) This link opens in a new window
Includes digitized images of pages from American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.
- British Library Newspapers (1732-1950) This link opens in a new window
This collection contains full runs of 48 newspapers that best represent nineteenth and early twentieth century Britain.
- GallicaLink to the French National Library.
Get Books Worldwide
- WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to books and other materials (including those that are out of print) held by libraries worldwide and allows users to request books via Interlibrary Loan.
