Civil War in the Great Interior (SERIES)
War of the Rebellion Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies
The Papers of Ulysses S. Grant
The collected works of Abraham Lincoln.Library Services provides access to many primary sources for United States history topics. In addition to the resources below, please check MavScholar for books and archival material available within Memorial Library.
American Indian Newspapers provides digital access to North American Indigenous journalism from a range of communities, historic presses, and contemporary periodicals spanning two centuries from 1828-2016.
Cover-to-cover digitization of the entire newspaper for 1851-2015. Searchable via the ProQuest platform.
Users can study the progression of events over time by browsing full-text, full-image issues of the Minneapolis Star Tribune from 1867-2001 with access to news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, and more.
This link opens in a new windowDigitized images from the American Antiquarian Society of the pages of American magazines and journals. Series 4 presents over 1,100 titles dating from 1853 through 1865.
This link opens in a new windowDigitized images from the American Antiquarian Society of the pages of American magazines and journals. Series 5 presents over 2,500 titles dating from 1866 through 1877.
Includes digitized images of pages from American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.
Provides a searchable index to full articles, editorials, news briefs, cartoons, illustrations, poetry, and advertisements from Harper's Weekly during the Civil War era from 1857-1865.
A searchable archive of leading women's interest magazines that serves multiple research areas from gender studies, social history, the arts, education, politics, and marketing/media history.
A range of primary source materials focusing on race relations across social, political, cultural and religious arenas from selected U.S. cities.
Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century.
Presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents, covering a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history.
Gale Primary Sources allows unified searching of Gale primary source collections for a comprehensive research experience.
Provides users with a source to research and increase understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada.
A collection of U.S. Government publications compiled under the directive of Congress includes Congressional reports & documents, executive agency & departmental reports ordered to be printed by Congress, the American State Papers, as well as maps, illustrations, photos, and lithographs
Provides full text ethnographic information on all aspects of cultural and social life (e.g., religious beliefs, raising children, causes and cures of diseases, economics, politics) for numerous cultures.
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Coverage: 1790 to present.
Comprises information on thousands of slave expeditions between 1514 and 1866 with information about the enslaved peoples, vessels, trading routes, slave traders, and slave owners.
