Community visitors can only use the resources on this page from Memorial Library at Minnesota State University, Mankato. There are designated computers available near the Circulation Desk on the first floor.
Current MSU students, faculty, and staff have access from any computer on campus, and off-campus (using their StarID).
Users can study the progression of events over time by browsing full-text, full-image issues of the Minneapolis Star Tribune from 1867-2001.
There are a lot more free Minnesota resources for you to use! Check out the "Minnesota Topics" section under the "Resources to Use at Home" tab.
Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century.
American Indian Newspapers provides digital access to North American Indigenous journalism from a range of communities, historic presses, and contemporary periodicals spanning two centuries from 1828-2016.
Provides users with a source to research and increase understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada.
Presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents, covering a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history.
A range of primary source materials focusing on race relations across social, political, cultural and religious arenas from selected U.S. cities.
Includes digitized images of pages from American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.
A list of historical documents of important events each year for the United States and the world organized by volumes.
This resource consists of declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events - including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions - from 1945 to the present.
Gale Primary Sources allows unified searching of Gale primary source collections for a comprehensive research experience.
Provides a searchable index to full articles, editorials, news briefs, cartoons, illustrations, poetry, and advertisements from Harper's Weekly during the Civil War era from 1857-1865.
Provides a combined searchable interface for both History Vault modules. World War I: British Foreign Office Political Correspondences (1914-1920) and Office of Strategic Services: State Department Intelligence and Research Reports (1940-1961).
Cover-to-cover digitization of the entire newspaper for 1851-2015. Searchable via the ProQuest platform.
This link opens in a new windowComplete text of the New York Times (1999 – present) via the ProQuest search platform. Includes abstracts and comprehensive indexing.
This link opens in a new windowSearch current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980's.
Provides searchable full-image articles published in the Atlanta Daily World that is part of the ProQuest Historical newspapers – Black Newspapers series.
Provides searchable full-image articles published in The Baltimore Afro-American that is part of the ProQuest Historical newspapers – Black Newspapers series.
Provides searchable full-image articles published in the Chicago Defender that is part of the ProQuest Historical newspapers – Black Newspapers series.
Provides genealogists, researchers, and scholars with first-hand accounts and offers news coverage of the politics, society, and events of the time.
Provides researchers with rich archival content, visual ephemera, monographs, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us.
A searchable archive of leading women's interest magazines that serves multiple research areas from gender studies, social history, the arts, education, politics, and marketing/media history.
Presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents, covering a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history.
Covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples in a wide range of subject areas; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery.
Gale Primary Sources allows unified searching of Gale primary source collections for a comprehensive research experience.
Historical newspaper archive that covers all major international historical events from 1785 and onward.
Provides researchers with rich archival content, visual ephemera, monographs, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us.
Comprises information on thousands of slave expeditions between 1514 and 1866 with information about the enslaved peoples, vessels, trading routes, slave traders, and slave owners.
Includes primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video; and more.
Access all JSTOR archival journal collections, now also including Sustainability, Public Health, Security Studies, and more.
Contains electronic reference titles from Sage. Users can search and browse the full-text equivalent handbooks, encyclopedias, and other titles.
There is a wide variety of primary sources available in the library. Here are some key words to try when searching. Try them out in the search bar below.
Below are some links to help you locate items in the library.
