Library Class and Subject Guides: Automotive Engineering Technology: Get Started

Start Here: Best Library Resources for Automotive Engineering Technology

We recommend these search tools, sometimes called databases, to find sources in this subject:

SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new window
SAE Mobilus is a repository of technical content published by the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) that includes books, technical papers, journal articles, and standards.
Our subscription only includes access to SAE Technical Papers from 1998 to current and the SAE Ground Vehicle Standards/USCAR Reports. The default search goes to the index for ALL content from SAE, not just what we pay for. If you are asked to pay for access or see no option to download an item, this means that we may not have access to it. You can request these materials through interlibrary loan or ask a librarian for additional help.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of disciplines such as agriculture, biology & genetics, arts & humanities, biochemistry, business, chemical engineering, chemistry, computer science, earth & planetary sciences, economics, environmental science, mathematics, medicine & dentistry, physics & astronomy, social sciences, and veterinary science & medicine.
ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library (SEDL) includes all 13,000 ASTM standards, as well as Manuals, Monographs, Data Series, STPs (Special Technical Publications) and 8 Journals.
AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Engineering reference materials integrated with analytical teaching and learning tools.
ASM Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
American Society for Metals Handbooks contains a comprehensive source of information on ferrous and non-ferrous metals and materials technology with articles, illustrations, tables, graphs, specifications, and practical examples.

Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)

Overview of OSHA
Find out more about the Occupational Safety and Health Administration.
Search and Access OSHA Standards
Scroll down the page to the section marked "Standards" and you will be able to search and access OSHA Standards.
Browse OSHA Standards by Standard Number
Browse the OSHA Standards by Number.

A standard (or regulation) is a regulatory requirement established and published by the agency to serve as criteria for measuring whether employers are in compliance with the OSH Act laws. OSHA standards are published in Title 29 of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) and are divided into separate standards for General Industry, Construction, and Maritime.