Aging Studies

Includes datasets on financial security, health security, long-term care, family caregiving, and more. Both public facing and researcher facing information here.

The Administration on Aging (AOA) is the principal agency of the U.S Department of Health and Human Services designated to carry out the provisions of the Older Americans Act of 1965 (OAA), as amended (42 U.S.C.A. § 3001 et seq.). The OAA promotes the well-being of older individuals by providing services and programs designed to help them live independently in their homes and communities. The Act also empowers the federal government to distribute funds to the states for supportive services for individuals over the age of 60.

The Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics (Forum) was initially established in 1986, with the goal of bringing together Federal agencies that share a common interest in improving aging-related data. The Forum has played a key role by critically evaluating existing data resources and limitations, stimulating new database development, encouraging cooperation and data sharing among Federal agencies, and preparing collaborative statistical reports. In addition to the original three core agencies (National Institute on Aging, National Center for Health Statistics and Census Bureau), the organizing members of the Forum now include senior officials from the Administration for Community Living (formerly the Administration on Aging), Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, Consumer Product Safety Commission, Department of Housing and Urban Development, Department of Veterans Affairs, Employee Benefits Security Administration, Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Management and Budget, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation in the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Social Security Administration, and the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration.

We are dedicated to accelerating the pace of scientific discoveries and their application to vastly improve the universal human experience of aging and health.

The Alzheimer's Association leads the way to end Alzheimer's and all other dementia — by accelerating global research, driving risk reduction and early detection, and maximizing quality care and support

Among the challenges are moments of joy.
The federal government is committed to making every day better for people with dementia, their caregivers, and their families.

As we continue to lead longer and healthier lives, there is an unprecedented opportunity to benefit from the accumulated insights and experiences of older adults — but we must ensure that the world makes the most of this opportunity and that we all have the supports we need to be healthy as we age. GSA is the oldest and largest interdisciplinary organization devoted to research, education, and practice in the field of aging. GSA’s principal mission — and that of our 5,500 members — is to promote the study of aging and disseminate information to scientists, decision makers, and the general public.

The University of Michigan Health and Retirement Study (HRS) is a longitudinal panel study that surveys a representative sample of approximately 20,000 people in America, supported by the National Institute on Aging (NIA U01AG009740) and the Social Security Administration. Through its unique and in-depth interviews, the HRS provides an invaluable and growing body of multidisciplinary data that researchers can use to address important questions about the challenges and opportunities of aging.

Minnesota Compass is a social indicators project that measures progress in our state and its communities. Led by Wilder Research, Minnesota Compass provides nonpartisan, credible information and tracks trends in topic areas such as education, economy, workforce, health, housing, and a host of others. Data and analysis on www.mncompass.org gives everyone in our state – policymakers, business and community leaders, and concerned individuals who live and work here – a common foundation.

The Minnesota State Demographic Center (SDC), part of the Minnesota Department of Administration, is the main provider of demographic data and analysis for the state of Minnesota. Susan Brower is the current Minnesota State Demographer. The SDC is often called upon to inform policy-making and planning efforts at the State Capitol, state agencies and beyond. The State Demographer and other staff members of the SDC regularly provide insight to media contacts writing about demographics trends and present to audiences around Minnesota, reaching more than 4,000 listeners each year. The State Demographic Center assists policymakers, state and local governments, businesses, nonprofits, the media, and all Minnesotans locate and understand the demographic data they need to make smart decisions.

Sponsored by NIA, NACDA operates under the auspices of the ICPSR and is responsible for archiving data sets concerned with the process of aging, health-related subjects, and the attitudes and behavior of the aged population. NACDA publishes an annual data collections catalog entitled Data Collections From the National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging.

The NCEA provides the latest information regarding research, training, best practices, news and resources on elder abuse, neglect and exploitation to professionals and the public. First established by the U.S. Administration on Aging (AoA) in 1988 as a national elder abuse resource center, the NCEA was granted a permanent home at AoA in the 1992 amendments made to Title II of the Older Americans Act. The NCEA is one of 27 Administration on Aging-funded Resource Centers. Research shows that as many as two million elders are abused in the United States. The Administration on Aging recognizes that as a government, as a society and as individuals, we must increase our efforts to ensure that all older adults age with dignity and honor.

Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts.

PRB analyzes demographic data and research to provide objective, accurate, and up-to-date population information in accessible formats. PRB provides tools and training, and builds coalitions, to help others understand and communicate effectively about population issues. PRB convenes and engages researchers, policy advocates, policy stakeholders, and decision makers to foster evidence-based dialogue.

Before 1937, those interested in the discipline met as the Rural Sociology Section of the American Sociological Society, which later became the American Sociological Association. The meeting at which formation of the RSS was approved had not started with that in mind. Rather, a committee of section members appointed previously, presented a report that supported continued association with the parent organization. However, one of the five members submitted a minority report calling for separation. After substantial discussion, a vote to establish a separate organization carried out. That same day, a provisional constitution and by-laws were established by the founding RSS members.